Travelling Through Norway


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
June 19th 2006
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I See Ships!I See Ships!I See Ships!

Finally we Set Sail
Here I am, in wet Bergen. Found somewhere that has free internet access and where I can upload my pics - first time I've been in a library in years!

Bergen is great - really picturesque with mountains on 1 side (which for the last few days have been covered completely in cloud, mist and rain) and the sea on the other. Staying in a hostel/YMCA place at the mo, which is good once you get used to 14 other people snoring and farting their way through the night and arriving/leaving at all times of the night! Think maybe I'm getting too old to sleep in a dorm! Anyway, met a few cool people here and went on a tour with a few of them of some mountains on a scenic railway and a fjord by boat (pics below).

I've attached a few pics from the first few days - of when I left the UK and then a journey island hopping from Stavanger to Bergen. It's so easy to get around here - everyone speaks English and things actually run on time! I'm starting to plan the route into Russia now and well aware that things are gonna
Big Norwegian SkyBig Norwegian SkyBig Norwegian Sky

Island Hopping In Norway
start getting harder from here on in. The Arctic Circle is next - in a few days, then I keep going North to Tromsø by ferry and then to Kirkenes where I'll hop on a bus to Russia! After that, Mongolia and China, Nepal and India, so I'd better not get used to this luxury!

I've spent a few days wandering around Bergen, chilling out and getting my bearings. There are lots of other tourists here - a lot of coach parties, but also people arriving by cruise ship. A few days ago there were a load of Russian sailors in town, some of whom asked if I wanted to exchange my watch for their's. They looked a bit bemused when I tried to explain that I would be travelling to Murmansk (where they'd sailed from) by bus in a couple of weeks - think I need to brush up on my Russian!

There are some great fish markets here, where you can get lunch of salmon, crab and shrimps with a smattering of caviar (oh, the champagne lifestyle) in a roll! I tell you, this travelling lark is hard work! Was a bit surprised to see smoked
Bergen Fish MarketBergen Fish MarketBergen Fish Market

Roll Up, Get Your Roll Mops Here!
whale meat and seal skins for sail at the same places, but I guess the stuff in the news at the mo about whale hunting may change all that? Although I'll eat pretty much anything from markets, wasn't tempted to eat whale at all.

That's all from me for now. The last few days have been nice and chilled to get ready for the next few weeks or so, so will send another update in a maybe a week. Keep in touch, folks and enjoy the sunshine (dammit!).


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Fjord SceneryFjord Scenery
Fjord Scenery

On Another Boat
Valley Near VossValley Near Voss
Valley Near Voss

View From A Hotel (But Sadly Not Mine!)


20th June 2006

Excellent photos
Your photos are excellent and Norway certainly looks worth a visit. Not sure about the look of your friends in the piccy! Don't worry about the weather it has turned cloudy and cooler here. The fish market sounds perfect, have a rollmop for me! LD
21st June 2006

Great photos
Who is your mate in the middle?
26th June 2006

Hope that you enjoy Tromso
Wotcha, Hope that you enjoy Tromso and get to sleep after the long boat trip. Can you put some place names on your route map so we know where you are going next? I'm still eating your sardines. LD
26th June 2006

Missed You!
Hi, Andy, Guess what? I was in Bergan on 19/06! We got up to North Cape and saw the midnight sun, that's amazing. Hope the cloud lifts so that you can see it as well. Have fun Bob W
26th June 2006

Hippy!!
Saving the whales single handedly eh? I can see you're well on the way to becoming a dreadlocked, tree hugging, hippy traveller.
26th June 2006

Milly's Scandinavian Relatives ?
Fancy that Andy ?! Meeting Milly's Scandinavian relatives !! The resemblance is uncanny.

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb