Kongsberg to Dale


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Western Norway » Bergen
June 2nd 2023
Published: June 2nd 2023
Edit Blog Post

Last breakfast at Elisabeth’sLast breakfast at Elisabeth’sLast breakfast at Elisabeth’s

Lovely and simple breakfast with Elisabeth ❤️ 🧇
This morning we leave Kongsberg to head to the Dale of Norway Factory and Outlet. This is something on my bucket list. For the time I was growing up, I was wearing Norwegian sweaters sent over for me from Norway. My farmor had friends who knitted sweaters for me, and some were bought. As an adult, I was able to buy my own. Dale is one of the good brands in the sweater market and I really like the many patterns and colours available. I’m very excited to be heading there this morning. It will be about a 5 - 1/2 hr drive to get there. Then, it will be a short drive south to Bergen where we are staying for that night and the next day/evening.

The drive to Dale from Kongsberg was beautiful AND challenging. The roads seemed narrow to us, as in North America the road lanes are a bit wider. And, it seemed to us, that other drivers were purposely coming over into ‘our’ lane of travel at high speeds in the turns on purpose. That might not have been the case (the on purpose part), but their vehicles DID cross into our lane causing us
VasstulanVasstulanVasstulan

Up at the summit at Vasstulan.
to honk and swear to ourselves a l’il bit.

The scenery was mountainous and full of vast plains of mountain top at the summit sprinkled with ‘hyttas’ (cabins) here and there throughout. These must be the summer cabins that are enjoyed by Norwegians to get away from regular work during times of relaxation and sport.

We eventually arrived at the Dale Sweater Factory and Museum!! We walked in and were immediately surrounded by gorgeous and plenteous Norwegian sweaters. After much debate and trying on of various sweaters, I ended up purchasing two beautiful sweaters to add to my collection.

The first sweater I got in Norway is a blue and white pullover that was HAND KNIT for me by my beautiful cousin Hilde! I wore that sweater today when we got to Bergen to sit and relax downstairs in the lobby with our wine. The other two were purchased for 50% off at the Factory Outlet. My sister, Kristine, was also able to secure two beautiful sweaters for herself as well.

The factory was available for tours, but we needed six for a group and there were only three of us. Our timing in arriving was
Geilo Geilo Geilo

Ski resort of Geilo.
a bit off as well, so we had a chance instead to see the full collection of Dale sweaters knit and commissioned for the Norway teams in each of the winter Olympics since the 1950’s. Very cool indeed!

After securing our purchases, it was off to Bergen!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

MountainsMountains
Mountains

Some of the mountains on our way to Dale.
Dale FactoryDale Factory
Dale Factory

Eric at the Dale Sweater Factory and Museum in Dale, Norway.


Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb