Norway’s Northern Frontier


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Honningsvag
March 3rd 2023
Published: March 5th 2023
Edit Blog Post

North CapeNorth CapeNorth Cape

You can just see my nose and eyes - so cold
After I had done some research it was agreed we would sign up to go to North Cape. North Cape is the northern most point of Europe and is marked by a globe. The globe was erected in 1977 and has now become the symbol of the North Cape. The North Cape is the point where the Norwegian Sea and part of the Atlantic Ocean meet the Barents Sea.



Now this is nothing to do with the North Cape but a dilemma I have had since we have been on the ship. So this is a question for all the chefs out there. How do they keep eggs runny? There are two bowls of eggs, one bowl with hard boiled eggs and one with soft boiled eggs. Every morning soft boiled eggs are in bubbling water with this device that seems to put air into the water - I just cannot get my head around how they can still be runny and warm some time after being cooked - answers on a postcard please.



After I did my 10 times around the deck to help get my 10,000 steps in for a Samaritans challenge (310,000 steps in March) we get wrapped up as we are going to the Northern Frontier. So we dock in Honningsvag and make our way to the coach that takes us to Nordkapp. Well thank goodness we booked a tour as I would not have liked to try and get there any other way. The roads are covered in snow and the only way you know they are roads are the poles stuck into the snow each side. There is no tarmac to be seen, it is totally white with hairpin bends and sheer drops that definitely kept me on my toes - I will admit sometimes I thought we were going to die - all I can say is that this road should be on the ice trucker road documentary as under no circumstances would I drive on it. The weather when we arrived was not the best and at one stage we could not see at all but soon we had clear views - well I am so glad we did this and this time Andrew joined the famous 5 on a trip out. To get there we all had to get up early and make a lunch for
No words needed No words needed No words needed

The van parked in front of the church
us in the ship’s restaurant as we were told by the lady we signed up with that we should do this - which sounds a bit weird but hey ho that’s what we do as we are English and go with the flow.



We had our usual G&T before our evening meal and if I am honest this was my best meal yet. It was Arctic Char which I have never heard of before. Arctic Char looks like trout. We told our waiter what a superb meal it was and moments later he brought the chef to our table so we could tell him. We had a spirit tasting session booked for later on and I tasted Aquavit for the first time. Aquavit was really nice but I am sure you could not have more than 1 shot of it - before this trip I had never heard of it.



Mike and I decided to wrap up and go on deck - well the snow decided to come and you could not see your hand in front of your face at one stage so we retired to our Cell Block H for the night.



This morning we arrived in Kirkenes which is only 5km from the Russian boarder. Leaving the ship we were back to the famous 5 and we all wrapped up as we thought it would be really cold. I managed to be able to use my shoe grips again so I feel that at least they were worth it. We walked into town which was around 20 minutes. Eric, Sue and Rachel went to see the Russian solder statue. I must admit that even though it was to commemorate the Russians helping Norway against the nazis I still did not feel quite right going to look at it when so many are now suffering because of the Russians. So Mike and I walked down into town and noticed a church with a car and slogan about the Ukrainian war which was quite poignant if am totally honest.



We were crossing the road to the shopping centre to increase our decreasing supply of Alcohol and this lady was taking her little son on a sledge - I asked her if she minded me taking a photo and she kindly agreed.



The weather is amazing, it can change minute by minute i.e. one minute it is blue skies and quite warm and the next it is a snow storm and the next you cannot see your hand in front of your face due to low cloud.



We get off at Vardo late afternoon and walk to the Vardohus Fortress which is the northernmost fortification of any kind. It also remains part of the military to this day which does seem surprising. It was really deep in snow and felt quite atmospheric. I would have liked to go to the witches monument, which is inscribed with the names of the 91 victims who were on trial in the 17th century, but unfortunately we did not have enough time. If I am honest a lot of the times we have stopped we have not had time to leave the ship, but we are on a postal boat not an actual cruise. Whilst walking back to the ship I did notice a mural on the wall of the CodFather, ha ha.



Last night we were in a gale with at least 5 metre waves and this has put us back at least 40 minutes. If I am honest I did not notice it apart from walking back to Cell Block H. I am sure after seeing people in the restaurant going green last night there will be a few very ill people on board.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb