Crossing the Arctic Circle


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Northern Norway » Bodø
March 3rd 2023
Published: March 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

So day 3 and we arrive in Trondheim which is a beautiful little town. It houses Nidaros Cathedral which is seen as one of the most sacred buildings in all of Norway. Whilst walking to the Cathedral we pass lots of beautiful buildings along the river; Norway is a really pretty place. We arrive at the Cathedral and it does not disappoint at all. It has 3 organs and one of them is the largest in Norway. Once again the stained glass windows do not disappoint. So quickly we made our way back to the ship before it departs and once on board we set sail and pass one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world.



We are once again treated to the Northern lights and what a show it was - however, all green again I am really looking forward to hopefully seeing some red and orange, fingers crossed. We were told that this was unusual for this location so we were really lucky.



In the morning we set sail towards Bodo and this is an exciting day as we cross the Arctic Circle which is on my bucket list, so tick. Whilst sailing, the scenery is totally amazing and then we actually get to the circle and you just sit back and think how lucky we are to be able to do this. Did you know the Arctic Circle each year shifts about 14 metres. To be clear the Arctic Circle as a line of latitude on the map remains in place, while it is the magnetic north pole that is moving - cor I bet you think Paula is really into this - well I have to admit I read this from google!

They have a ceremony to celebrate the crossing but to be honest I was not going to join in this one as I for one am not wanting ice cubes poured down my back - no thank you.



We eventually get to Bodo which is Norway’s second largest city. Mike, Eric and myself decided that we would walk into Bodo so I could post a postcard to my grandson with the Arctic Circle stamp on. Looking for a postbox felt like it was trying to find a needle in a haystack, however it turned out that there were loads of them. Bodo is going to be a European culture capital in 2024 so there was a lot of building work going on. We did find an amazing structure which we got to at the right time as it was chiming. We did not stay long in Bodo as if totally honest it was a grey day and with so much building going on so back to the ship we went. No northern lights tonight!!!!!



The next day we went to the Capital of the Arctic called Tromso. We decided that we would not book the Hurtigruten trip up the cable car, we would do this ourselves. Well sometimes you know it is better to book trips as we thought we would get a bus to the bottom of the cable car but could not find the bus stop. Then we decided to get a taxi and that was not as easy as you would think and because there were 5 of us we had to get 2 taxis. No problem though we get to the bottom of the cable car and wait for it to take us up. It takes you up Storasteinen which is 421 metres above sea level. When
Mike at the top of the mountain Mike at the top of the mountain Mike at the top of the mountain

Notice sky is blue not for long!
we first got up the mountain the view was not much as you could not see your hand in front of your face. However, within minutes you could see all over Tromso. Now most people would love this but not me as I really do not like heights - why did I arrange this! I had been investigating and “You haven’t been to Tromso if you haven’t visited Olhallen.” Now you are probably thinking what the hell is Olhallen! Well guess what, it is a pub that was opened in 1928 and guess what it is a brewery as well. So taxis come to pick us up and we asked them if they would take us there pronto. Now we arrive at Olhallen and calamity we think it is closed - but hey ho it was not so a beer it was then.





Just to update you regarding Cell Block H - do you know what, I am definitely getting used to it. I also started 310,000 steps in March for Samaritans and I can honestly tell you I am way above target. I walk around deck 6 which is the walking deck, however, it
Pub openPub openPub open

Yeh we found one open
is too cold to walk with the Samaritans t-shirt on but I have been thinking I could put it on over my coat - so watch this space!

Advertisement



3rd March 2023

https://sitmeanssit.com/dog-training-mu/southeast-new-york-dog-training/
Such a great article, thank you for sharing this blog.
5th March 2023

Thank you
Thank you for commenting on my blog

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb