Working as a Team


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
December 2nd 2005
Published: December 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Time here is quickly diminishing, so we are trying harder to come together as a team since we will be out on our own very soon. There are some people I am somewhat comfortable around but there are others I can tell it will take more time and effort before I can say I really know them. I think the most important thing to remember is why we are all here, to remember we all have the same purpose and that is for the youth of Europe to know Jesus. I remember that before I started law school I thought things were black and white. I still think there is definitely a right and wrong but because of people (not everyone is as easy to understand as I am  ) things start to get complicated. We have so many things hidden inside, we have a hard time letting go of things from the past or have people trying to pull us in so many directions that sometimes it is hard to really get to know a person.

Lately I’ve just had a big burden on my heart regarding the team. I felt we really needed to realize what being on a team means, especially those new to the team like myself. We keep speaking about unity and being a team but I didn’t know if we had really defined what that meant. I started looking at scripture and thinking of how God refers to us as the Body of Christ. I looked up the definition of unity, which also fits how Jesus describes the Body of Christ. Unity is the quality or state of being made one. As the Body of Christ we are many parts but one body. In order to be made one, really made one, strong and working as one, you have to take your eyes off yourself. In order to move as one, we have to all take commands from the same source, Jesus. Being young I think many are used to getting their way (some parents are too nice I think) which hinders moving as one when each part wants to go different ways. Just being in this team is teaching us the importance of “dying to ourselves” and living with Jesus. Sometimes even if we are right about something we should just hold our tongue if what we have to say does not encourage or build up the team. I was also thinking about how sometimes on a team you have weaker parts, it may be because they are tired or it may just be because they are not having a good day and decide not to put their full effort into the team. I’ve noticed that when this occurs sometimes people on the team start to get irritated and it affects their contribution to the team. This is when we have to remind ourselves that we are one, with one goal and whether or not each person is holding up his or her own weight we still have that one goal to achieve. It is during this time when those who are strong take up the slack of those who are weak. It made me think once again of God’s image of the body. When you hurt your left ankle as you walk your right leg tends to compensate for the pain in your left ankle and tries to carry more of your body weight. If it did not do this eventually the left ankle would just get weaker and weaker until it completely failed and you would no longer be able to walk. But when the healthy ankle compensates for the weaker one, it gives the weaker ankle a chance to heal and the body is still able to function. At the same time the ankle that is compensating becomes stronger. God sees what is going on and will give you the extra strength to keep the body going so the others can get healthy. During this time we should pray for them and encourage them while still going forward. In the Message it says in 1 Thess 5 it says “Get along among yourselves, each of you doing your part. Our counsel is that you warn the freeloaders to get a move on. Gently encourage the stragglers, and reach out for the exhausted, pulling them up to their feet. Be patient with each person, attentive to individual needs. And be careful that when you get on each other’s nerves you don’t snap at each other. Look for the best in each other, and always do your best to bring it out. Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb