What do I Really Believe?


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
December 1st 2005
Published: December 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

When you put all your faith in what you believe and liveit out, it forces you to examine more closely to discover what it is exactly that you believe. In the hall the other day, in passing one of the guys said to me, “I just realized something, if what we believe is wrong I’m wasting my whole life. But if we are right, we are doing the greatest thing we could possibly be doing with our lives.” I’ve been thinking the same thing. We are basically going against the old saying of “not putting all your eggs in one basket.” We are putting all our hope in Jesus. Thankfully we do know we are right.

But the solid resolve we have in our hearts is not enough when we know we are called to share that with the world. By following as Jesus directed and going on the streets to share who He is, we are having to put into words what we really believe. God is so huge and great it is hard to put it into words. I don’t know if words can really capture that. Even when Moses says to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name? Then what shall I tell them?” God replies “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.” I think sometimes we can think we have to argue for God’s very existence but then we have to remember it is not our words that will open a person’s heart to understand but God’s Holy Spirit moving in their hearts. We are simply delivering His message. Thankfully, though this requires using words, we don’t even have to worry about what those exact words need to be. In Matthew 10:19-:20 it states, “do not worry about what to say or who to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.” We do not know people’s hearts but God does, He knows exactly what is going on inside. He knows that earlier that day they cried out to Him or cursed Him or challenged Him asking Him for a sign of His existence. He knows what words they need to hear and He will give those to us to say to them if we let Him and are simply obedient to approach them. I’ve seen this happen when we’ve been out speaking with people who at first are so closed off to what we are saying and then some random thing we say completely opens them up.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb