You'll appreciate this, Mom


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 4th 2007
Published: September 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Deruta ceramic plateDeruta ceramic plateDeruta ceramic plate

I think it's beautiful.
Today is rainy. I've just finished my morning sessions of Italian and have one hour until the afternoon session. We're having grilled cheese and soup. The exciting thing about today so far is that I've discovered that every Tuesday and Saturday people come from Deruta with ceramics. I won't have to go there at all because they bring the ceramics right to the center of town. I bought a small plate today for 25 Euro, though the listed price was 28-something. I spoke a little to the man and woman who were selling them on my way to and from class. They were packing up when I bought the plate from them, because of the rain, but I'll go back Saturday and look around more. I'll keep my eye out for tiles, but all I've seen in the two shops I've looked at so far, as well as the tables outside, is plates and other dishware. It's very pretty though.



My other exciting purchase was yesterday. I bought the second Harry Potter in Italian. I wanted the first, but the libreria (bookstore) I went to only had the second through seventh. I read the first chapter last night.
Harry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsHarry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsHarry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

The title here "Harry Potter e la Camera dei Segreti" translates literally to "the room of secrets." This book was my favorite until book 4, which was my favorite until book 6 . . . and 7. Maybe I'll have to just get them all?
My Italian is not good enough for me to understand it all, but my memorization of Harry Potter is almost embarrassing. I'm pretty sure I know it almost sentence by sentence, once I recognize the context I can translate without looking anything up because I already know the English words. Nerdy and a half, I think.


That's all for now. I didn't end up going out last night, I just read and went to sleep early. All my roommates went out with the neighbor boys, but it was nice to be here and have it quiet. Hope all is well in the states; I'm sure you're all sleeping right now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb