First day of Italian


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 3rd 2007
Published: September 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The hillsThe hillsThe hills

I think this is beautiful.
I got very lost today, for the first time. It was really good for me. I had to ask a woman for directions. She didn't speak any English, and was also foreign, from the Ukraine. We used what little Italian we had and she helped me a lot. Eventually I spoke to an Italian woman who directed me back to the Piazza IV Novembre, because I knew I could find my way from there.



We began classes in Italian today. I like my professore. His name is Francesco, and I think I'm going to learn a lot. It helps that right after class I have to go out to the Piazza and buy a pizza for lunch or whatever it is I need. I had three hours of Italian in the morning, then attempted to find my way back to the apartment (which I hadn't done alone yet) and got lost. When I made it back to the Piazza I ran into my roommates. Shannon and I went shopping and back to the apartment. I continue Italian at 1:30 so I went right back to class after that. The rest of my roommates have Italian at 3:00, which
The PiazzaThe PiazzaThe Piazza

This looks up the street to La Piazza IV Novembre
is very good for me because it gives me freedom in the apartment in the afternoon, for at least these three days. I walked around and went shopping for hours. I bought a toaster, and some groceries, and figured out my way to all the school buildings. It's not very big here, so it wasn't difficult to figure things out.



Right now Shannon is finishing up dinner; we're using the left over pasta, and making a sauce of some Italian cooking cream, onions, zucchini, and sausage. It smells fabulous. I'm playing Damien Rice. We're probably going out with the Swedes tonight. I kind of want to sleep early, so we'll see how late an evening it is. Last night we went to bed right after dinner, which ended around 10:30. It was a nice night though, and a lovely day today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Piazza IV NovembrePiazza IV Novembre
Piazza IV Novembre

Here's the fountain and the duomo.


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb