My apartment


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

a room with a viewa room with a viewa room with a view

This is the view from my bedroom.
So yesterday morning my four roommates and I moved in to our wonderful apartment. They told us not to expect it to be very nice, or have internet, or a washing machine, or a TV. My apartment has it all. The internet is the very nicest, and I think we're the only ones who have it; at least we're the only ones I've talked to so far. Exciting stuff. The landlord is an adorable middle aged Italian man named Mauro. He's very nice and showed us how everything works. His English is pretty good as well. He has a wife and daughter who is almost three. Both he and his wife work in medicine. I think he works with pharmaceuticals, and she is a pediatrician. Hopefully we'll get to meet his family eventually.





When we first got to the street where we live there were two blond boys our age sitting with their luggage. Mauro wasn't there yet, so the five of us had to wait for a while. Our neighbors, Klas and Victor, are from Sweden. They're very nice and speak English well. I imagine they're bragging to friends at home about living so close
my bedmy bedmy bed

I have the flowery bedspread, thanks to Mauro, who gave us sheets and covers for the comforters.
to five American girls.
My roommates are very nice. I think we've done a good job so far of cleaning and we're working on acquiring groceries. Last night I cooked dinner and made way too much pasta. We ate the pasta, had some bread, and drank wine. The Swedish boys came over around eight, and we drank and talked. Another American girl came over as well. We went out to the bars near the Piazza IV Novembre around 11:30. It was a very good night, and we met many more people. We finally got home somewhere around 3:30.





Today all the Umbra students had a meeting from 10:00 to noon. My roommates and I then had lunch on the piazza, walked to an open air market and went to the remaining open houses at the buildings from our school. I also tried gelato for the first time, cioccolato, and it was certainly as good as I've heard.
It feels really good doing all this walking. At home I felt lazy and weak after working at camp. I'm pretty sure the walking is really good for me. I think that's going to be troublesome again when
out at the barsout at the barsout at the bars

This is my roommate, Shannon, me, and Stephanie, who does not live in the apartment, but will likely spend lots of time there. I like my face in this picture lots.
I get home.
Tomorrow classes start. Tonight we're going out to dinner at a restaurant because we don't have enough food for dinner and everything is closed. I want to go to sleep early because the first thing in the morning is the placement exam for Italian, and the last two nights have been wild and late.






Hope all is well in the states. I wish all the people from home could see this place and share these experiences with me. I think I'll have to come back to Perugia in the future. It's been incredible so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Swedish boysSwedish boys
Swedish boys

They were having too much fun. Much talk of claws was happening. I was strongly reminded of a certain made up creature that a few camp-folk are familiar with.


Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb