Good Morning Day 3


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » North Aegean » Lesbos
October 3rd 2008
Published: October 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi thereHi thereHi there

Here I am writing this blog. Found the perfect spot for an early-bird, this is the courtyard of Nassos Guest House.
Hello all!
I think I already have a day 3 but since this is about yesterday and I'm writing it on 3 Oct I'll call it how I see it! We were up at 3 am yesterday for our flight from Athens to Lesvos (aka Lesbos, Mytiline)Island, the 3rd largest Greek Island. Excellent 45 minute flight on Agean Airways, and tho Athens was amazing, we felt like we were finally in the Greece we had imagined. Our car was delivered to us from Cosmos car rental and away we went. It's been years since Gord drove a standard and I have the whiplash to prove it!!! hahaha Only 3 stalls in 14 km, not bad he says! The traffic is not near as heavy as in Athens obviously but people still drive kinda crazy. Oh yah, we filled the car yesterday, $1.19 euro/litre we get euro for about $1.62 Canadian so you do the math, cuz I don't do math!

The pictures really tell our day the best. On some rainy day I will write more little tidbits, but for now we want to get on our way. Besides...some other guests are getting up now and having their
View from airportView from airportView from airport

This is what we saw when we stepped out of the airport in Mytylini, Lesvos
tea and such in my little courtyard.

I have put on a video showing some of our drive up here. Unfortunately I can't preview videos on my laptop so what you see is what you get! A few little personal notes here while I wait for the video to upload...Kel, this town is very much like Vernazza, but with more steps!!..and the place we are staying is similar to one in Lucca. Shirley, I could only buy whipping cream for my coffee, thought of you this morning as I sipped! Heather, give Fletch a wee nuzzle from us please, and a hi to Mom. Louise, could you somehow give the blog site to Antonio for us. Mitch, you smarty pants, I will put a pic of the theatre you mentioned on next blog. Any computer geeks out there that can tellus why we can connect to wireless here without having the "card" in which I need at home to connect to our wireless. still waiting for the video to upload...will start this first next time.

Sky is clear now, it's around 22 degrees. We just decided we will do western lesvos today Time for breakfast now...can't
Our CarOur CarOur Car

How cute is that! My husband needs a little practice driving a standard....my turn today! Went over a pass on our drive from the airport to here, can't wait to see if I still have my Kicking Horse Pass driving skills.
do the Greek breakfast thing...pastries and thick coffee. Picked up some yogurt and stuff yesterday...including coffee to have what Greeks call "filtered coffee"...it looks like cocoa! I'm not going to wait for the video to upload...taking waaay to long. Bye for now...B & G


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

1st view of Molyvos1st view of Molyvos
1st view of Molyvos

The town we are staying in for the next 3 days or so. Northern Lesvos
Molyvos HarbourMolyvos Harbour
Molyvos Harbour

A working harbour...the catch sardines here. Someone told us last night that the fisheries here has been decimated by use of dynamite fishing??? I think kinda like the overfishing of Nfld cod.
Fisherman mending his netFisherman mending his net
Fisherman mending his net

We watched this guy from our dinner table at the "Captains Table" restaurant.
Mixed GrillMixed Grill
Mixed Grill

Oh dear....heads still on Not sure what kind of fish...but it was really good
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Eeww...dealing with my now headless fish. Greek Salad...a little bit different each place we've had it. Saganaki, local cheese but deep fried.
Cats from Hell!Cats from Hell!
Cats from Hell!

There are homeless cats EVERYWHERE here...this one wanted some of Gord dinner!
The walk home from the HarbourThe walk home from the Harbour
The walk home from the Harbour

It's uphill all the way from here!
Last night from the TerraceLast night from the Terrace
Last night from the Terrace

Got just a little rain through the night...it was about 23 degrees during the day.
Organizing the days picsOrganizing the days pics
Organizing the days pics

Gord on the terrace last night...hate to admit it but he was right! It was an excellent idea to bring the laptop
This morning in MolyvosThis morning in Molyvos
This morning in Molyvos

Looks like it's going to be a beautiful day!


3rd October 2008

It's all greek to me
Hello my dears...it is so nice to see your pictures. Brenda the picture of you and your "fish" is too cute....your a braver girl than I. I am off to work for the weekend. Jimmy is still in Timmins...it is snowing there...continue to enjoy..love me.
3rd October 2008

hello from karpathos
hello friends, waiting for you, in case you do not know the ferryboat schedules have changed with no specific time and day of your planted arrival to karpathos plus the ferryboat strike is still on (only LANE). Please inform me with your latest news. By the way, I'm passing this tip on to you that from RODOS you can come to Karpathos by airplane for you to reorganize if you have too. In case you want to speak to me please call 0030 6978587924 or 0030 6982385369, thanks.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb