Day 2 in the City


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 20th 2014
Published: July 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After a very, very active first day in Berlin, and exhausted from jet lag and walking around the city for 8 hours, I went into my second day in Berlin with the intention of taking it easy. But that's not exactly how it happened.
My German professor recommended to me that I should visit the KaDeWe, the 7 story mall in Berlin, so of course I had to. I am still a little confused about the U Bahn but it is definitely the best way to get around for me. I love the underground and I wish home in Long beach had such a system. Anyways, I got to the KaDeWe and it was beaitiful. I visited each floor; but my favorite floor by far was the 6th, which is the food. I bought some yummy chocolates and the restaurants gave us some free samples. I also noticed that there were a lot of American products for sale but they were so expensive. For example, the Arizone Ice Teas, which usually sell for 0.99$, which were for sale at the KaDeWe for $5.99 each.
At the KaDeWe was also where I realized just how much the Germans love Wursts. They had an entire section of so many types of Wursts for sale. And so many people in line to purchase them. I bought 4 small wieners and they weren't too bad :P
Unfortunately since I've been in Germany, I've been suffering from a terrible toothache. I did not bring any ibuprofen with me here, so I had to go and buy some. I learned that you can not just buy over the counter drugs here, you have to go to a drug store. Luckily there was a drug store directly across from the KadeWe. After I purchased a newspaper from a homeless man trying to earn some money, I went inside.
The Pharmasist really impressed me. She was the sweetest woman I have yet to meet in Berlin, and was genuinely concerned for me. She was worried my tooth might be infected and recommended a see a dentist as soon as I am home. She gave me the proper ibuprofen I needed, and a bottle of water. I really appreciated her help and her kindness and patience with me.
I did a little shopping in the area of Kurfürstenstrasse, (which is sooo nice) and grabbed some CurryWurst for lunch. (Yes, again!)
Then I felt like doing something even more spontaneous. So I went north, and saw the Zoo. (Tiergarten) My Berlin Reference book has this on the top 10 things to do while in Berlin. It cost only 13 euros to enter so I bought a ticket, and I'm happy I did. It was the most beautiful zoo I have ever seen. I spent at least 3.5 hours there, enjoying the scenery and the weather. It was hot in the beginning of the day, but the trees from the zoo provided shelter and cooler temperatures.
Not only did the animals provide entertainment, but this was a good place for me to people watch as well. There were so many different types of families at the zoo, and the calmness of the place gave me an opportunity to listen to them and be around them. I'm still trying to get used to the language, and my ears perk up whenever I hear English (which is very rare)
Although most people speak English, I try to use the German that I do know the best I can. I have noticed that the older German people do not speak English like the younger generation does.
It was yet another successful day of walking, eating and observing. The buildings and architecture are jaw dropping and I love that this city has unique areas.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb