My First Full Day in Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
July 18th 2014
Published: July 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I LOVE BERLIN!! I have only been here for one day, and I am so in love. The culture and the atmosphere is something like I have never experience before. I spent my first day walking around the city for 8 hours, getting a little lost, but trying to see as much as I could.
I was very eager the first morning I woke up here. Jet lag had me wide awake at 7am, out and about by 8am. I started at Heidelberger Platz, which I have to say was very, very confusing. It was my first time ever riding a train, or buying a train ticket. My first destination was Potsdamer Platz, which was near parts of the Berlin Wall.
I went to a small cafe to buy a few bottles of water. But I had no idea that when you buy water here, they give you an option of sparkling or still. The woman who I asked for water handed me two bottles of sparking water, (which I don't like) I had no idea how to ask for different ones so I had to drink them. I won't make that mistake again. 😊
My first glimpse of the Berlin Walk was a very small piece at Potsdamer Platz. It was painted a zebra color and sticking out of the outside of a businesses walk. (So cool!) Then I walked a little father to other pieces of the Berlin Wall that people had stuck gum onto and painted on.
Then, I went to the Museum of Nazi terror which was unlike anything I have ever seen before. The pictures and the information there was so overwhelming and taught me so much.
After that, I went to check out Checkpoint Charlie, which was more than I expected it to be. There were so many people, and two "guards" were charging 2 euros a person for a photo with them at checkpoint Charlie. (Of course I had to do it, too.) I stayed in that area for a while, walking around the people and trying my first Currywurst. (Yuuummmmm)
then, I had lunch at Gendarmenmarkt, which is place that my reference book had recommended. I ordered water (which is not free here) and Pork Crust with potato dumpling and Bavarian Cabbage. It was different, but I enjoyed it. The cabbage was actually my favorite part. The waitress was dressed in a traditional Bavarian dress which I thought was really cool.
I also stopped by and sat on the front lawn of the Reishstag, and enjoyed an hour of scenery from the beautiful building.
I stopped by the Brandenburg Gate, which was under construction 😞 but I am for sure going to go back when it is dark so I can see the lights. Then I walked around the corner to the Holocaust Memorial.
I do have to say that my favorite part about this whole long day was the visit to the East Side Gallery. I was amazed. Each piece of art was so unique and some were so powerful. After seeing the museum of nazi terror and the Holocaust Memorial, and kind of the sadness that it put me in it, the art of the East side Gallery was so beautiful and made me happy again. I'm going to go visit it again, but take a pen so I can write my initials on the wall too 😊
There is only one thing I noticed about the city that I do not particularly like, the fact that sooo many people are smokers here. Not only that, but the pollution of cigarettes butts all over the streets is crazy! They are almost literally everywhere. But when it comes to the people, even though it has only been one day, the people I have met and talked to are so nice and helpful. Especially when it came to the train stations, and trying to catch the right train. Because for a foreigner, they can be a little difficult to understand your first day. So I am lucky there were people nice enough to help me out. 😊
My first day in Berlin was absolutely amazing. I already know that I am not going to want to leave. But I have to close this up now, so I can see what today has in store for me 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb