More fun In Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin
July 21st 2014
Published: July 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the last few days in Berlin eating, wandering around the city, visiting museums, and enjoying a little night life.
I want to start off by saying how much I really love the transportation system here. It makes the US look a little...lazy. (if that is the right word) the people here are constantly walking, some even run, to catch their train or their bus, and from there, they walk the rest of the way. I really do not think I have ever done so much walking. Which is just fine with me. I have used every transportation method so far and I love it.
I met up with a friend from my home town and his dad who are actually here on vacation. We decided to meet at a restaurant called Zur Letzten Instanz, which is located right next to a Protestant church. The restaurant has been there since 1621, so we thought it would be a perfect place to check out so we can observe the history.
We arrived before they did, so I decided to go inside of the church. It was beautiful and the back yard actually had old statues as graves of people from the community.
When my friend and his dad arrived, we decided that the restaurant was not exactly the place we wanted to eat. So we walked across the street to Alexanderplatz where I tried my first Döner. Sad to say, I was actually a little disappointed. Everyone has always raved about this traditional meal but I was not too impressed. Maybe it was the place that I bought it from; I'm definitely going to give it another shot.
After lunch, we walked across the street and got some ice cream that was inside of the mall. Outside of the mall, there was a group of people dancing. That's one of the things that I like about this city, there is always something going on, always something to watch.
We decided that we were going to check out some Berlin night life that night, so we all went back to our rooms to rest up for the night. Apparently, people party until 6am in this country, which is something I am not used to at all. Some of the bars and clubs don't even open up until 11:00pm.
So we left from Heidelberg Platz, and met some other friends at Alexander Platz. When we arrived, there was a concert going on.
People were everywhere! And everyone was drinking. (public drinking, something very new to me) They were sitting on blankets with food and drinks enjoying the free show. We stayed until the end of the concert. My favorite part was watching the people. There were young people, and older people really enjoying themselves. I also really liked the German music, which is something I have only heard a few times.
After the concert, we walked a ways to the Bradenburg gate. I am still getting used to the bike lane being so close to the sidewalk where the pedestrians are supposed to walk. I was walking in the bike lane, and a German man nearly hit me, and I really made him mad (I couldn't understand what he said to me, but his tone said it all.) I was a little sad, because we had just missed a huge party at the Bradenburg gate 😞 So we decided to keep walking.
We walked over the Weindendammbrücke, and walked inside of an Irish Pub. We had a few drinks there and chatted with the really nice waitress. After leaving the bar, we walked to a night club. We didn't know exactly where it was, but because of the loud music, it was very easy to find. They charged 9 euros each to enter.
The club was so fun! We danced and ordered drinks and had a very good time. However, the one thing that I still can not get used to is the smoking😞 the people were smoking right there on the dance floor and the entire room was filled with smoke.
After we left, it took an hour to get back to the hotel. And like we predicted, it was 6am when we finally got back to our room and the sun was already up.
It was an amazing night and one of the funnest days I have had in Berlin so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0876s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb