Discovering Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 24th 2014
Published: June 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After meeting a girl from Mexico that resides in the same hostel as I, she and a couple more people from my hostel decided that it would be better if we explored the vast city to see what there was of interest to us. Although we could’ve easily booked a guided tour, we thought it would be more enjoyable if we got lost in between the neighborhood streets of Berlin. After continuos walking and using the U-Bahn, we came across the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, which is located on Cora-Berliner-Strabe, Just a couple minutes away from the Brandenburg Gate.as we were walking towards the memorial it seemed as if the floor was even and every gray concrete slab was the same height. It was to everyone surprise that when we walked in between the memorial, the floor was uneven, it had the contour of various hill-like features. it was truly something that I have never seen before and I was amazed at the architecture of this Memorial. After about 30 minutes of walking around this labyrinth-like place, we went across the street and enjoyed a delicious Döner Kebab.Once we were done eating, we came across a small shop where they sold macaroons and ice-cream. There is macaroons sold in the U.S, however, I never knew what they tasted like.we al decided to buy one small macaroon since weve never tasted them before I bought a chocolate macaroon, and once i bit into it, my tastebuds went crazzyyy! they were very delicious, I really regret not buying a couple more.So far everything in Berlin has been a new experience for me, and I am definitely falling in love with the city !


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb