Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rather than paying for a tour, I decided to make my own way out to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp. I went with another Aussie in my room, Simon. It took just over an hour to get out there, including the trackwork delays that just happened to be taking place on the same day (I thought that was only a Sydney thing?!). I wasn't too sure how I'd react to the camp, considering the abhorrent crimes that had taken place there.

It's really hard to describe how I felt walking around the grounds. There are still some of the original buildings left standing since the days the camp was in operation (about 1936 to 1950 - the Soviets used it for about another 5 years after the war). The foundations of the gas chambers are also still in place, as is the original camp entrance gate that reads 'Arbeit Macht Frei' ('work will set you free'). There is also a museum which houses a lot of actual photos from when the camp was in operation.

The size of the camp is overwhelming. Standing in the roll-call area facing Tower A, the dilapidated electric fencing, and 'no-man's land' (about a 3m area in front of the electic fencing where a prisoner was shot dead upon entering), was a very surreal feeling. The most disturbing thing was seeing the set-up of the gas chambers from the left-over building foundations, and reading what took place. It is hard to believe what actually happened here and that is was only 60-odd years ago that it all took place. It is also hard to believe that the camp is in the middle of a suburb. From Oranienburg train station (where there is a Macdonald's), the camp is only about a 10 min walk away. Among the more eery of places was the old underground mortuary. Needless to say, I didn't stay down there for too long. I was surprised to see some tourists getting there photos taken down there. Not sure why you would want a phot of yourself there. I spent about 4 hours at the camp in all.

Later that night I made up for the Macca's I had for lunch, and finished off Berlin with bratwurst and sauerkraut for dinner (perhaps I should've had the pork knuckle though...). Of course a German meal would not have been complete without a few 1/2 litre Berliner Pilsners.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb