Finally...some cheap beer!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Crossing into Czech from Germany, there was a nice change in landscape; from flat open country-side to a long meandering river with houses scattered in the adjacent valleys and hilltops. I'm not sure what the name of the town we passed through was, but it looked like a great spot for a holiday house. Arriving in Prague in the eveing, I caught up with some mates I met in Berlin. We headed to a nearby pub. It looked like what I imagined a quintessential Czech pub to look like, though with one difference. There were 4 new AMF-style bowling lanes out the back. Not exactly what I expected to find!

The food was amazing. I had this goulash-type dish (traditional Czech), served insided a crusty bread loaf. And it was huge! And cheap. Beer was also cheap - the cheapest of anywhere I've been since leaving home (about 1.50 AUD for 500mL). I tried Kofola too - a Czech-style coke. I also met a girl from Concord at dinner. Random, but with so many Aussies on Busabout it probably won't be long before I meet my next-door neightbour over here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb