My Life is Not Average


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
January 5th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 - Venice to Munich, Germany via Austria.

Saturday 5th January 2013

A change of pace as we arrive in the capital of the Bavarian region of Germany. Munich has long been known for the annual Oktoberfest Beer Festival so tonight grab a stein and a traditional pork knuckle or German sausage at one of Munich’s famous beer halls!



A very long drive up across Austria with several games, films and comedies to watch on the coach and we arrive in Munich late evening due to the traffic. As we only had one night here, 6 of us all stayed in one room (my usual crowd plus Courtney) – it was very big and down in the corner! We all met up in reception and headed down in the rain to the Hofbrauhaus Munchen for dinner, through the small square and past the church. What great fun this is and if you haven’t experienced it, go for it!



Domino wasn’t feeling too well – think somehow I gave her my cold so I sat at the end with her, Carly, Shaz, Jo and John (Kenny and Tarin were there for a drink then left us to go exploring).



The pints of beer were awesome and the half spit roast chicken I had was superb. With a singing competition with Contiki, a very loud restaurant and several choruses of ‘If I were a Sparrow’ mixed in with Happy Birthday to John, we had an awesome night here. While some stayed out til 5am, I like a good girl went to bed after dinner, as the dark cold rain and a dying camera did nothing to make me want to go drinking afterwards. Sadly we didn’t get to sight see Munich, so one to return to at a later date. Besides I was looking forward to the next stop!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb