My Life is Not Average


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
January 4th 2013
Published: August 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 6 - Venice, Italy


Friday 4th January 2013


Time for Venice in depth! There are two ways to really see Venice and today we do both – a walking tour to visit the sights such as the Rialto Bridge and St Mark’s Square with its famous basilica, as well as a vaporetto ride on the Grand Canal to experience Venice from the water…an optional gondola ride is a must-do as well!







The memory of you



One of my favourite places of all time. I have only been here once before on a day trip, but it stayed in my head and in my heart and now Southend Airport flies there, I would have no hesitation on nipping over again for the weekend. An island in the north of Italy, we arrived at our campsite by evening and I was sharing a static caravan with Casey, the youngest in our group - I then felt like mum. A 19 year old American, having never drunk and out with a bunch of Aussies? This was going to be an interesting night. We had 2 nights here so we could let loose a bit. I however, came down with a cold. I dosed myself up and laid off the drink for a while, still managing to beat two guys at pool, eat a lovely spagbol and dance the night away, retiring early and being woken up by the renditions of ‘If I were a sparrow’ outside my window, courtesy of Mitch teaching it very loudly to everyone!



“If I had the wings of a sparrow

And the arse of a cow. I’d fly over Paris tomorrow

And sh*t on the people below, below

And sh*t on, oh shit on

And sh*t on the people below BELOW!”



The next morning, my cold getting worse, we piled onto the coach and Ype dropped us at the rail station, to get the ‘tube’ into Venice. We walked along the canals, snapping photos and into St Mark’s Square, where I got all excited about the day ahead! Some people went to watch the lace being made, then we all watched a glass blowing demonstration and oohed and ahhed at the lovely glass ornaments and jewellery, daring people to move too quickly and knock anything over! Coming together in St Mark’s Square, it was time for our gondola ride and while we were waiting for a couple in my boat to come back from the cashpoint, it was possible we were going to miss our ride. Fear not, with a second to spare, we hopped into our boat, avoiding the smashed glass bottles on the steps (Nice one Jules!). As I was the only one singing ‘just one cornetto’, I became silent as my cold came on with force and watched the canals go by. No matter how many times you do it, it is still magical bobbing slowly down the Grand Canal and through the waterways! It is one for the couples but just as fun with a group of you. Everyone enjoyed this particular aspect of the trip! We all dispersed after that for lunch, so with my gal pals (Julie, Michelle, Charlene and Hana), we found a little pizzeria down an alley which was lovely, then did a little mask shopping for that night. I ventured off alone, keeping my germs to myself and we agreed to meet in 2/3 hours at the clock tower.



Strolling over the Rialto Bridge and seeing the Bridge of Sighs took me back to the last time I visited this little island, although I was having more fun this time around. Feeling sorry for myself, I treated myself to a hot chocolate in St Mark’s Square – don’t do it if you don’t want to get ripped off – but just this once I blew the budget. Sitting watching the world go by, I phoned home to say Happy New Year and received some lovely news! As most of the guys went back on the 4pm bus (which I wanted to as I was feeling rubbish but promised to meet the others), I wandered around the extra hour waiting to meet the girls. Michelle joined me and told me of her tale – she had spent the last 3 hours, sat in Louis Vuitton waiting for the handbag she wanted to be couriered over and received coffee and a massage. I should have stayed with her!



The others filtered along slowly and we went and sat in a cute little restaurant, the girls having hot chocolate, me having a cheeseboard and then got the ever so romantic waterbus all the way along the Grand Canal back to the train and back to Ype’s coach. By this time, I was feeling very under the weather but with a long hot shower, more pills and a change of damp clothes (yes it was drizzly) I managed to go for dinner and the mask party for a while and then retired early leaving them all to get well and truly plastered on buckets of cocktails!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb