On to Vienna!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 12th 2005
Published: June 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all! Wish I could say it is nice and warm here, but its overcast and cool. Maybe it will be better in Vienna. We were planning on getting on a train and going to Salzberg, but we missed it so we will just go on to Vienna.
Munich was very good to us. I ended up getting my bag although I packed a lot of warm clothes so I am still kinda stinky! Friday we went on a really geat bike tour and saw a lot of Munich sites and learned some history. We went to a beer garden in the English Garden(it is called English because it was all planned out). I have some great pictures and will try to post them today if I can. A guy that we met on the bike tour told us about the Beck concert and later we all went on a beer tour. It was pretty fun. We got to go inside some breweries and learn how they make beer and some history. Our guide was a little shaky and we ran into some problems that he had a hard time dealing with, but it all turned out okay. Yesterday we just relaxed. We checked into a cheaper hotel for the night. Beck was great! He did talk some in German, but sang all his songs in English. The concert was at a small venue and we managed to get right up front. I may have some decent pictures of that too. I have been taking pictures of everything. I´m not used to it and I feel like a tourist, but I guess that I am one so there ya go.
Let´s see, what else. Hopefully we can find a place to stay in Vienna right when we get there. We will be there for two(?) days and then its on to Prague. The more that we talk to people here, the more we find out about great things to do not only in the places we are going, but day trips from the places we are going. I just hope to fit as much as possible in. No more beer for a while! And we will hopefully be staying somewhere quite. Last night some dude came in our room just before the sun was rising. I guess he had the wrong door.
When we are in Vienna, the company that
crazy people surfing on a river...crazy people surfing on a river...crazy people surfing on a river...

This is a man-made river that runs through the English Garden, called that 'cause it's all been planned out. After a bridge the water surges up and creates a wave. There were probably 8-10 surfers there that day, waiting to catch the next wave. Pretty cool...
did the bike tour here in Munich also has a tour there so we will probably check that out. It´s young people running it so it´s fun and the tell jokes which will help me remember more of the history. Most of the pictures I took I can tell something interesting about.
Okay well, off to catch our train, I am excited to see Austria and it´s countryside. The first train we took from Paris was at night so obviously we didnt see much. More to come soon!
´Lots of love - Courtney

Advertisement



Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb