Weekend Roadtrip!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Schorndorf
August 20th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Conny and Reimar in HeidlbergConny and Reimar in HeidlbergConny and Reimar in Heidlberg

Unfortunately this is the only picture I have of Conny and she's blinking! Doh!
Leisurely breakfast
Mmm, eating is my hobby!
Roadtrip to Schorndorf.

After a nice, large and leisurely breakfast on the patio, the three of us set out in Conny’s convertible BMW towards Heidlberg. Riding in a convertible with the top down on the autobahn sure make you think, “Why’d I bother combing my hair this morning?” Since the sun was shining it was a nice ride. And thankfully I didn’t have too many knots to deal with - hmm, should I just leave them and start dreadlocks? Haha

Just over an hour and we’re in lovely Heidlberg and exploring the Castle (or rather Schloss.) It was a 300+ stair climb that was a bit taxing on the cardiovascular system but not too bad. I felt like running up but thought it’d be rude to run up leaving Reimar and Conny behind! Other than the Castle and seeing some of the great views of the town we didn’t do much else in Heidlberg.

Next stop: Schorndorf for coffee and cake time at 3PM at the Müllers (aka Reimar’s parents). We were right on time for delish cake. I’m not sure what the first one was called but it had a sponge cake on the bottom and then crushed up chocolate and wafer cookies in sort of a yoghurty/creamy topping. The other one was a plum cake that was equally as delish!

The weather was starting to turn…grey clouds, threat of rain. But we headed out to do a bit of shopping. Quite difficult when many stores close by NOON! We went to Tchibo - a business doing well in mail order and also to an outdoor clothing company (I can’t remember the name) that reminded me of MEC/REI. They were open ‘til 6PM…wow, so late. Haha. I managed to walk away without buying anything but Conny and Reimar picked up a few items.

When we got back to the house it was almost time for dinner. What a dinner…currywurst sausages, kebabs (chicken & veggies), tomato & cheese salad, warm potato salad and yummy ice cream with layers of chocolate. Yum!

The rest of the evening we lounged, talked and I shared some of my photos that were stored on my Archos. It was a pretty early night but that’s okay because I wanted to get some reading done. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb