All by myself...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt
August 19th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A day to myself
Reading, shopping and watching
Great day in the sun.

Today is my first full day in Frankfurt. Reimar and Conny had to go to work today so I was left to my own devices. I wanted to get up and at least have breakfast with them but I slept like a log and didn’t even hear them! I eventually got up and started to read “when the War was Over - Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge Revolution.” By Elizabeth Becker. A really well written book…only problem, there are 500+ pagers to slog through by Tuesday morning! I was showered up just before the cleaners came by. Perfect timing! Reimar and Conny have been living in temporary accommodations since coming back from their big RTW trip in March/April. It is covered by Conny’s work. So at the temporary digs it is sort of like a hotel in the sense that they get housekeeping done during the weekdays. It will be nice for them when at the end of the next month they’ll be able to move to a more permanent address and not have to live out of a suitcase any longer.

I continued my leisurely morning outside on the patio and did some more reading, soaked up some sunshine and listened to the kids playing/screaming/laughing/crying across the street at the day care.

My stomach started to “rumble” so I thought it was a good time to go out and grab a bite to eat. Where Reimar and Conny are living it is really convenient to the pedestrianized part of the City (where I wandered yesterday) and I easily found something to eat. I basically came across a market, bought some plums and a sandwich as well. Lots of stuff happening in the pedestrianized zone so I stopped to watch the volleyball match. It got a little hot sitting in the sun so I escaped to one of the department stores to find some socks since many of mine now have holes in the toes! Damn those razor blade sharp toe nails. Lol I was lucky to find socks for just €1 each! Not sure how long they’ll last but hopefully for more than a couple of washings if not for a few months! I did a little more shopping and found a couple of shirts at H&M. Gotta love that store for cheap clothes!

I was home about 4:30 in time to get a little more reading in before Reimar was due to be home. Conny had a work function to go to so it was just me and Reimar for dinner and then a movie. We saw Sin City. Lots of bloodshed and the first few minutes I thought, “Oh boy, this is gonna be a long movie!” But it got “better” as the movie went along. I think because parts of it were so stupid you had to laugh. Plus I had pretty low expectations of the movie. Mind you, the movie is based on a comic book. It would have been nice to have read a few beforehand but oh well! It kept me entertained for two hours! After the movie we walked around for a little bit before stopping for a drink. I ended up getting a kaluha and coffee and before we knew it, it was midnight.

Back at the house Reimar started to show me some of his photos from his and Conny’s trip around the Pacific Islands and South America. We didn’t look at the SEA and NZ photos since we were guessing I’d have pretty much the same shots. Plus we didn’t want ot look at 1500+ photos! Lol Half way looking through the photos Conny came home and there was double the commentary about the photos. Looking at parts of South America really make me wish I was going there too but it’ll have to wait…perhaps for Round the World trip Number TWO?!? haha


Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb