Bebenhausen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Bebenhausen
May 28th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

here is a view from the outside of the church
Bebenhausen is to Tübingen as Zeeland is to Holland. Close to the same size and not far apart.
I went to Bebenhausen this afternoon and saw the castle and the monistary there. The church that is connected to the monistary is the one that my host parents got married in. It was very beautiful, unfortunately I didn't take any pictures in the Schloss (castle) but I was the only person on the tour and it seemed rude to be taking pictures while the nice old guy was talking. I did, however, take pictures from the outside of the buildings and inside the Kloster.
Enjoy!

Gruße, Bethany


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

OutsideOutside
Outside

On the right is the castle, not the disney idea of the giant stone towers and little flags on top, but still really beautiful and BIG. The clock you see is on a covered walk-way connecting the house to the church
Outside 2Outside 2
Outside 2

Here is a view of the wall that goes around the castle/monistary/chapel and other buildings that are attached to the aforementioned. Outside this wall is the town, very old houses and such. And about 5 minutes by bus away is the modern city of Bebenhausen. It's about 15 minutes by bus from the bus stop in front of this old town to the omnibusbahnhof/hauptbahnhof in Tübingen
CastleCastle
Castle

Here is a view of the Schloss, it's really big ánd hard to fit into one picture.
MauerMauer
Mauer

Here is another view of the wall that goes around the centrum altstadt.
KlosterKloster
Kloster

Here is a rather dramatic look at the steeple of the chapel. The sun was directly behind it so I'm impressed that I got any picture at all
KircheKirche
Kirche

Here is the church across this cool maze thingy that was in the middle of the monistary
CeilingCeiling
Ceiling

I am weird and I took lots of pictures of the ceilings because they are all so cool! There weren't any plain or boring ceilings anywhere
GartenGarten
Garten

here is another side of the Klostergarten
Monks were smartMonks were smart
Monks were smart

People accidentally came across this, it is a space under the floors that somehow was hot and in the winter it heated the floors in the monistary...
The T is a crossThe T is a cross
The T is a cross

Above every door in this dormitory hall there was painted a T, it is supposed to represent the cross and it was meant to be a blessing upon the brothers in the monistary. This whole floor was once just one giant hall where the monks would sleep on pallets on the floor, but after this monistary became a school they added rooms for people to sleep in.
Dining RoomDining Room
Dining Room

Here is a fancy dining room, I don't remember where it was or what purpose it held... I do remember thinking the ceiling looked cool.
ChapelChapel
Chapel

Here is the chapel, I'm standing in the back
Chapel CeilingChapel Ceiling
Chapel Ceiling

I like ceilings...
Front to BackFront to Back
Front to Back

Now I'm standing in the front, this way you can get an idea of the size of the room. Also to my right beind the pillars is more room that I don't know what its use was, but it also had pretty paintings and such.
It looked sort of like a TulipIt looked sort of like a Tulip
It looked sort of like a Tulip

In front of the monistary there was a small garden with herbs and some flowers, these looked like tulips but when I got closer I realized that they were huge and crinkley
Crinkley TulipCrinkley Tulip
Crinkley Tulip

Yep, it looks fake, but it isn't
TowerTower
Tower

This is a Turm (tower) on the corner of the Mauer (wall) that goes around the Stadt (city)
I like archesI like arches
I like arches

Here is a view of part of the castle (I think, maybe a parlimentary building) from the walk way on my way out of the altstadt
Am EndeAm Ende
Am Ende

the last cool thing that I walked through before I left... a rather small archway in the outermost wall. All of the stone walls and buildings and everything are real, and really old, none of it was built to look old, it all just IS that old.


29th May 2008

Great photos! Danke!
Great photos! Danke!
30th May 2008

Best little town yet!
Dear Ms B. The ceilings, archways, stone work photos are fabulous. My favorite place to date. Notice the blues and greens in the roof of the turret in the photo called outside 2. And Ms farmer, the crinkly red tulips are called poppies!!! It has been so cold here mine are just starting to form blossom heads. Love Aunt Pammy.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb