Bonjour Mon Aime


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
October 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I did what I always wanted, sat by myself and gazed out the window while entering and travelling through France. The weather was not the best but I didn't seem to notice as I watched farm houses and little towns pass me by.

We started with a driving tour through the city of Paris in the late afternoon, seeing the Louvre, Seine River, Notre Dame, Champs Elysee, Arc de Triumph, the Eiffel Tower and much much more. Originally we were heading straight for our hotel then finding dinner for ourselves. Sightseeing the next day then a picnic under the Eiffel Tower on our last night. They changed the plans and we started with our Picnic under the Eiffel Tower. We were joining another Top Deck group who were just starting their tour so we sat in the bus waiting for them to arrive as they had the food & more importantly the Champagne. And as luck would have it.....it started to rain. At 1st it was a light drizzle then it got heavier. We watched the other group pull up & start to unload their bus with all our delightful treats. I think I remember hearing somebody from our group mention in a casual way that maybe we should be out there helping. I promptly dismissed the suggestion and continued gazing at the Eiffel Tower through the rain streaked window.

As if God was watching us, the rain stopped, we jumped out and proceeded to pile our plates with all the delectable goodies you would expect from France, yes, including snails. They were sooooooooo good. After all this yummy food and a few, too many, glasses of bubbly, as if on our comand the pretty lights of the tower began twinkling. You could have heard a pin drop after the initial gasps of wonder. All eyes were turns skyward and all jaws were on the ground. I have never, never, never seen anything as brilliant as that sight. After a few minutes of staring we all raced over to the roundabout (where the best views were) and began clicking away. The photo's will never do it justice. I think everybody in the whole world should see that at least once in their lives.

We continued our driving tour a little then headed for the hotel. We found a groovy bar just up the road and all had a french beer to toast our arrival (finally) in Paris. The next morning we went to the Sacre Cleaur (spelling???) then we were on our own. The bus dropped us at the Eiffel Tower were we lined for only about 40 minutes which was not too bad. Again out comes Kelly's doopey grin that I could not wipe off my face as we assended to the second level where we had to swap lift to go right to the top. Once outside I had to take a moment to actually realise what I was seeing. The wind almost knocks you off your feet when you get outside but the view is worth it. I have some awesome photo's that I can't wait to show you all when I get back. But I think the most exciting thing that happened that day atop the tower was Bec & Ross, my tour buddies, got engaged. Ross was down on one knee & he popped the question........How Romantic.

After that we all headed to the Notre Dame, where we found the most brilliant cafe 'Le Petite Pont' to have our lunch, then we all left the lovebirds alone and I jumped on a hop on hop off bus to see more of the sights. I got off at the Arc de Triumph, took some photo's, walked along the Champs Elysee and found a bistro to have dinner. Then I headed back to the tower to meet up with the group for a river cruise to, you guessed it, see more sights. It was an unbelievable day. One I will not forget in a hurry.

The night was a bit of a fizzer though. We had all planned to go out & celebrate the last night of our tour. The group split up, we couldn't find half of them & some went to bed early. I found a few happy souls where were glad to come for a drink with me but we were back at 1am with anly a few drinks in our belly's.

Next day were bid a sad farewell to Daz our driver who was staying in Calais & we headed once more for the white cliffs of Dover & the end of our Europe Uncovered Tour. A couple people stayed at the Hostel so we had a couple more drinks then did some long needed washing then hit the hay.

Another early morning as I headed for Scotland. Bec & Ross did the Edingurgh add on as well so I was happy to know I would have friends to share the experience with.

Ciao for Now
Love Kel
xxxxxxxxxxxx



Advertisement



5th October 2006

Looking up at the Tower at night took my breath away too. When I read you blog it took me back to the magical time I spent in Paris, particularly walking around the platform at the top looking out over the sites of Paris at night. You are so right Kelly...eveyone needs to see it. Spring is finally upon us as we head into the the Spring Carnival. Jarryd is going to be a God Father to little Richard (Russell's number 3) on Sunday. We have 2 German backpackers we met on Samos last year staying with at the moment...they are certainly entertaining us!!! You will be home soon, I can't wait to hear your stories..enjoy Scotland and stay warm......the whisky is pretty good!! Cheers

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb