Fabulous Florence & Stunning Switzerand


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Next stop Florence. Not a bad trip but by now we are all getting a little sick of being on a bus. Although, I must say the service stops are magnificent. Real restaurants, nothing like our truck stops. I am sick of paying to pee though!! (you have to pay to use the bathrooms all through Europe)

A great walking tour that lasted about an hour as the city is not that big, then we had free time to explore. It was strange to see the statue of David & all the other wonderful artwork & staues they I have always heard about. We heard many intersting stories about Da Vinci, Willum Tell & Micheal Angelo. I just hope I rememer it all. I finally bought a St Christopher medalion that I have on a bracelet & we had a take away slice of pizza that was the best I have ever had. Had a rest at the hotel in the arvo for an hour or so, walked back into town to a great bistro for a brilliant dinner. The waitress was in love with me. Then we headed to a bar called the Red Garter for drinking & Karaoke. BEST night so far. We all had so much fun. There was another bus tour there so I didn't get to sing (much to the detight of my fellow travellers as they had heard my singing on the bus). Lots of shinanigans from everyone that night. Lots of new knicknames and memories were made. I could tell you my new nickname but then I would have to kill you!!

Next morning off to Switerland with lots of sore heads so the bus was very quite.

I was not intersted in going to Switzerland but I must say, I thought it was beautiful. We stayed at the top of Mt Rigi in two seperate hotels which was a bit of a pain as we had to go to the other hotel for dinner both nights & it was FREEZING!!!! Little suprise as we were over 12000 feet above sealevel. Into Lucerne the next day by ferrie & the sights were amazing. Beautiful, lush mountians with the greenest grass I have ever seen and the most magnificent houses and farms. One house was built into the side of a mountian in a little cave. Lovely cows with massive bells around their necks ringing as they meandered around the little towns, noisy moutian goats having a feast in the lush fields and hundreds of "Bambi's" they we thought might have been our dinner for that night. A little walking tour then free time to explore. Got lots of great photo's. At my hotel they had an outside ground Chess board so when we got back Ross & I played & I WHIPPED his butt 2 times in a row. He had bragged all morning about being a great chess player so I was a little worried that I would not be able to keep up but it was the other way round & boy did I let everyone on the bus know the next day just how long it took me to beat him twice (1st game under 5 minutes, 2nd just under 10....hehehe).

Tried Cheese Fondue & Rosti for dinner. They were intersting but I will not have the Fondue again. Kirst I like yours better. The rosti I have had before thanks to mum.

I wasn't too sad to say goodbye to Switzerland as I knew France was next............

Ciao for now
Love Kel
xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb