Paris - Day 2


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 6th 2006
Published: June 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Effiel TowerThe Effiel TowerThe Effiel Tower

I thought this picture had some artistic genius to it. Yes, I took it myself. Its not a postcard.
When we aoke up, and by woke up I mean sat up since Heather kept me up all night with her snoring and coughing, we determined that Heather needed to see a doctor. She has been a little sick the whole trip, and it was about time. She decided I should go out for the day alone, and she had the doctor to come to the hotel, she got medicine, and now she doing a lot better.

I went off by myself all day, but I just pretty much listened to my Ipod the whole time. Paris by day is not scary, and I was never off the main streets. After I spent an hour trying to find an ATM, since Heather knows the French in this pair, I stopped at the Ferrari store, then it was off to the Effiel Tower. I also sw the Invalides and gardens, went in Napolean's old house and saw his tomb (the house was like as big as the Louvre) and saw the National Asembly and walked the river.

But of course, the hightlight of ,y day was the Tower. It was pricey, and super crowded zhich is only multiplied since Europeans
My backpackMy backpackMy backpack

This is what I looked like on travel days by this point in the trip. There were strings hanging off me everywhere.
have no regard for personal space and were draped over me. I went all the way to the top, the only way to go, and the views were unreal. I could also see Roland Garros and the French Open was going on. I hope the pictures show how awesome it really was.

By 5:30 I was back at the hotel to see how Heather was after 5 hours on my own. (which is nothing new after her trip to London - I love to give her a hard time). We went to the store together, Franprix, and bought groceries instead of going to an expensive dinner. I got ny usual yogurt drink which is amazing, and we lounged in the room till dark.

We wanted to see Paris at night, and it was definitly a good idea. I walked back down to the Effiel Tower with Heather, probably my 20th mile of walking of the day, and we saw the city at night. I sat under the Tower for two hours while Heather went up. While waiting I met a lot of cool tourists from the US, Austrailia, South Africa, and Canada. I was really cold by the end of the night, who would have thought it got so much colder at night; and my shorts didn't help. We walked back around midnight, called home, and went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb