København


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
April 25th 2008
Published: April 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Copenhagen was alot more successful than my Hamburg trip, mostly by this time my sorethroat was over and now all I had was sa bad cough. We took a boat tour around the city which was very interesting, unlike the Hamburg trip. We saw the owner of Chelsea's football club (London's soccer team) yaht that was anchored there.

After the boat tour we went to where they had the changing of the gaurd which was longer than most but still exciting. Some of us went down to the Carlsburg brewery for a tour. Guide books had said the tour was free but it was recently changed. Luckily, we had enough for a group rate so it was not too too expensive. It ended up actually be a museum of the company rather than seeing the actual process of the beer being made. The musuem did end with 2 free drinks to taste from. Some of us smuggled glasses as souveniors and we later calculated that they must expect you to steal the glasses with the price of the beer and glass included in the price.

Later we went to a little park that had a maze in it and raced towards the center. When we all reached the center we decided to make a human pyramid! We then made our way back to the hotel where we went out on the town at night.

The next day we had a tour of Christiania, a hippy-run part of Copenhagen. It was fairly interesting but one could see that despite the free-love and selfgoverned town was not at all the utopia the one might image hippies would create. Afterwards, Aaron, Matt, and I went to parliament and sat in on a session, which was interesting. I then went back to the hotel to finish paperwork for the DHS.

The next day we learned that there was a riot at Christiania. A curious group of us made our way to see what had happened. There was signifcant damage around the area and we learned it was because an innocent dog was shot during a police raid on the hash business there. However, we later learned that the dog was not so innocent as it was a bulldog without a leash making threating gestures towards the policemen.

That night we saw a great opera called Den Glade Enke. I thought I would be late as everyone was leaving for the opera where I got back from finishing my paperwork and the made it seem like I would have no chance to reach the ferry on time. However... I somehow got dressed and ran down to the harbor to reach the ferry and beat them by a longshot to the opera house. I as known as the fastest person to reach the harbor. It is originally German but it was translated into Danish. Unfortunately... none of us know Danish so we didnt know what was exactly going on but the music was great and it seemed to be a great story.

That night Tim and I were in competition to fetch cookies but on the stiuplation that we could not go to the million 7/11's around. I ran to the closest grocery store but it was closed and I tried the candy place that was open late the night before but was also closed. I was able to find a cookie at a cafe but lost the amazing race. However, I did fetch a far superior cookie and my quickness to reach the harbor was once again made known.

The next day, Matt and I saw the old fortress there and walked around after we had some great kuchen (cake) at this little pastry place. We then went to the national musuem there where I saw alot about Danish history and its many conflicts with Sweden.

I then later met up with some people to go out on the town with Herbie as it was his birthday. Some of us had a beer but I declined as it was about $6-$8 for one beer.

Copenghagen was definitly the most expensive place I have been so far, but the people knew English well and were friendly and helpful.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb