London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
April 26th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After Copenhangen, we came back to start classes off again. Our modern German history teacher thought it would be a great idea to have presentations and final papers due the day we got back from our excursion, so I was busy in my cafe working on those. Over the next couple days I was forced by my German teacher to go to the doctors and I ended up missing a couple classes as I needed meds. The doc was very nice and she was really interested in that I came here to Berlin to study and that I knew some German (I am especially thankful that I know German here or else life would be alot more difficult)

Soon I would be off to London. I was on a mission... a mission to drop off a bag. I flew into London (Stanstead) without a plan or anything. I touched down and proceeded to make my way to baggage claim. I had no problems getting through customs as it was obvious that I was a student traveling to London for 'holiday' and had a friend to stay with. This I later found out to be odd since my friend Sarah has had some trouble with them in the past.

I then proceeded to information and asked for the cheapest way to get into London. They directed me to the bus station right outside and I quickly asked for a ticket to downtown London, which I was then asked where in downtown.... I asked somewhere near the parliament building would be great, which would happen to be Victoria.

I got into Victoria's bus station and quickly found a hotspot to call Sarah. We made plans and I then made my way around looking for a hotel to steal a map and directions. I then walked around and found myself next to a great stone building and a marvelous fountain out front. I, at first, wanted to ask what this was. However, I luckily checked my map first since this happened to be Buckingham Palace! I then made my way through St. James park and the Wellington Arch and the house where the Wellington's use to live.

I was finally able to reach the area where Sarah live, however, there was some miscommunication so I got to her place a little later while she was out to dinner with her folks. She came back shortly after and we went around and got some 'supplies' for the night. I got a couple beers that I have tried before and interestingly enough an Asian beer that I had was not half bad. I was disappointed to find out though that Fosters was the British #1 choice. I met some of her friends and we then went to a bar that night and came home after a while. I told Sarah to order a Hoegarten which is a decent enough beer, however, Sarah was not a fan.

The next day I midly slept in and gave Paul a call about dropping off my bag. I walked around Sarah's area for a couple hours and had ginger beer for the first time in years and the best panini sandwich of my life! I then took the tube over and wandered around aimlessly since the section of this city was covered by a picture. I somehow was magically able to find the alley that he lived in out of complete dumb luck. I was then faced with a problem. I had forgotten the address. I believe it to be #3, but after knocking and waiting, I soon went to #1. #1 was not correct but the lady that lived there was not very helpful. I then went to #8 and the lady pointed me back towards #3, she was very very very nice and waited outside the door until Paul came out. We introduced ourselves and he gave me his card so I can contact him again when I come back to London.

OK. Now I was ready to see the city! I took the tube down to parliament and saw Big Ben and Westminster Abbey and the Old Tower. I then walked over and saw buildings such as the Modern Art museum there and saw they were having a exhibition of Duchamp (pfft) I also saw Shakespeare's Globe theatre, Millenium Bridge, London Bridge, HMS ???? I was also able to see St. Paul's Cathedral and stumbled upon the Old Bailey.

That night Sarah and I went out with her friends to a couple bars. We went to a bar that had a sound gauge at the top and people outside would try to collectively yell to make the meter go up... when not breaking a previously higher number, there was a collective *sigh.

The next day Sarah should me the British museum and the national portrait gallery which was great and stumbled upon the marathon that was going on. We walked around for a while before I got on the bus back to Stanstead. I happened to be one of the first one's there and somehow managed to get through security despite all the metal and technology I had carrying with me.

Made it back safe and sound, but was forced to use the regional trains to get back, as the S-bahn to the airport was roped-off.

One thing that i will miss from London is the constant chaning on crowds walking from the left-side and then switching to the right, this would continue until you reached your destination. Also, I had complete culture shock! I was more nervous talking in English then when I was talking German in security! But the biggest shock of all was at crosswalks. I had become moderately Germanized and when the crosswalk is red, you DO NOT cross, you just dont. However... when I reached a crosswalk in a busy end of town, people started crossing when it was STILL red!!! I didnt know what to do and I almost had a panic attack.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb