Hamburg


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hamburg » Hamburg
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Shaker!The Shaker!The Shaker!

A top ride at the carnival
My trip to Hamburg was a dangerous one... Before I was finally able to obtain the necessary fingerprints for the DHS. However, during this time I was sick... struck down by an illness that left me exhausted. I felt fine during the train ride to hamburg, but once arriving to the youth hostel on the mounth with only stairs I was hit with a sore thorat. During the next couple days, I was unable to speak and thus resorted to writing down everything I needed with a pen and notepad.

Despite this, I still went on the walking tour. We saw the Rathaus and the shopping district. We then kept walking to different points around the city where old stuff "use to be" and was constantly reminded what use to be here before WWII. At this point, I was ready for the tour to be over... but people had to ask rediculous questions that I couldnt figure out why they couldnt answer it themselves. However, I kept on the journey and the end of the tour actually ended up kinda interesting. We went down to the underwater highway that ran under the great habor there at Hamburg. We then were
Soviet SubSoviet SubSoviet Sub

The abandoned Soviet submarine
shown the redlight district and the hoppin zone for the weekend.

That night we went to the opera! We saw Orpheus, a greek tragedy. Although the music was quite good, the story line was a bit faulty and veteran opera goer's were greatly disappointed with storyline and the songs that were cut from the show.

The next day we went on a boat tour around the habor. We felt bad for the tour guide because we knew there really wasnt anything interesting about the harbor... a harbor is a harbor.... but it was nice riding around a boat for a while.

One night I did go out with some people and went to the carnival that was going on. Afterwards, Chris, Kevin, and I went to Herbertstr. or where the red light district is. We were approached by prostitutes which was kinda sketch. It wasnt as exciting as we thought it was and walked aroudn a bit. We ran into Hans and Andreas and talked with them a while before I decided to head back to the hostel. I was forced to walk through a group of "them" and was asked if I spoke German (in German
Boat tour entertainmentBoat tour entertainmentBoat tour entertainment

Aaron and I keeping the crowd entertained
of course) and I replied with espanol. The others asked what I said as I walked away and the reply was Kilo-English... which to this day I do not know what that means...

That night when I got back, I played Matt in a game of chess with large floor chess pieces. To his surprise, I was able to overtake his defensive strategy.

The last day, Dave and I went to the Soviet submarine that was randomly left there in the harbor. The Soviets came in and left with the keys in and disappeared. We then went back and continued with our journey towards Copenhagen.

During this trip.... I was able to get a haircut by a Turkish man, I bought meds for my sore throat and tea w/ honey. My throat would soon be cleared up in a matter of a couple days.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

BismarkBismark
Bismark

Large statue dedicated to the German hero, Otto von Bismark!
Waiting..Waiting..
Waiting..

Us waiting for the boat tour to begin...
Large Floor ChessLarge Floor Chess
Large Floor Chess

Herbie and I contemplating over my next move
HarborHarbor
Harbor

View of the Hamburg harbor!
PizzaPizza
Pizza

Half Mango chicken, Half banana honey!


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb