Three days on the beach


Advertisement
Published: April 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Border crossingBorder crossingBorder crossing

This was by far the most different border crossing I´ve even experieced, I went over in a bicycle with a bench up front. Over a bridge and into Nicaragua
After a great send off in Tegus with Nadia and Julie I headed to Leon Nicaragua on Sat. After nealy all day on the bus I got to leon, got a hostel and some food ad crashed. Next moring I woke up early and walking to see some sites and beat the heat. After have too much off the heat and not entirly digging Leon I decided to take the bus to the beach. I got off at Las Peñitas and got a room in The Oasis which is literally right on the beach. I immedietly went for a swim and was surprised by how hot the Pacific is.
I spent 3 days here, about 2 days longer than I had planned but that is the beauty of traveling alone... I can change my plans whenever I want. I took a long walk to the reserve which is an island, but you can swim or wade across to it. I also walked along the beach to the other beach town, Poneloya where I saw the bull on the beach and a baby horse which I followed for a long way. The highlight of my time here was a spontaneous campfire on the beach which some Brazilans staying at my place told me about. A few of us gringo joined it and had just an amazing time, with the owner of the bar singing songs all nite and telling stories of the war. It was one of those rare occasions you hope will happen along your travels and I feel lucky it happened so quickly for me.
I left Las Peñitas today (sadly) and took a bus to Leon, and then to Chichigaulpa where the Flor de Caña Factory it!! Oh yes, after trying to call and arrange a tour and nearly writing it off I decided I could not be in Nicaragua and go see how that precious liquor I love is made. So I am waiting in a cafe for my tour to begin.
So far I am loving Nicaragua and am already planning to come back after my mandatory cross to Costa Rica on the 10th, just don´t think I´ll have enough time... Hope you are all well, would love love love to hear from you. Take care, Kari
can´t figure out the rest of these pictures so teh bull and horse pictures will have to wait


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Lions in LeonThe Lions in Leon
The Lions in Leon

On the plaza
Graffiti near the plazaGraffiti near the plaza
Graffiti near the plaza

¨Bush genoside. Bush is the enemy of humanity¨ Ah yes, another reminder of why I travel
Las PenitasLas Penitas
Las Penitas

I spent 3 days on the baech here, learning to chill
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Everyday these got better and better. There´s not much better tnen sitting on the deck with a Nica Libre watching the sun go down on the water
El FogateEl Fogate
El Fogate

We had a campfire on the beach with the locals very spontaneous and lucky
Alex and NaturoAlex and Naturo
Alex and Naturo

We spent some time up on La Penita with the rasta watching the moon
FredoricoFredorico
Fredorico

Singing to me my song, Öh Carolina, niña bonita....¨While the Brazilian recorded it


26th April 2007

souns like you are having a ball but please stay safe I love you

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb