Semana Santa and so long


Advertisement
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Semana Santa- I got back from Roatan just in time for the celebrations. We all went to Morgan's bar on Thursday and around midnite people started gathering in the streets to begin to make the sawdust carpets. Not sure why but they can't start until midnite and have to be finished by 8 or so that morning before the procession comes and ruins them. It is quite an interesting process watching them build the carpets. They have frames of the designs they want for the carpets and they lay it down and fill in one color, then they put another frame and another color and so on until you have the pictures here. It was pretty awesome to see them all and it was not the hottest day of the year as it is traditionally, thank god. The day of the carpets there are people all around spraying the sawdust with water so they won't blow away. Some just have little spray bottles while some are serious and have this contraption on their back with a hose!! There are ladders at nearly every carpet so that you can climb up and take pictures from above. It was a great celebration
outside our houseoutside our houseoutside our house

The neighborhood kids wanted to make a carpet too, this is them watering it down to keep it in place
and I was happy I was there to see it.

So long- I leave tomorrow for Tegucigaulpa with Nadia and Julie to party it up together one last time before I leave. The next morning I am off on a chicken bus to Nicaragua. Words cannot explain how ready I am for this to all just begin already!!

THINGS I WILL MISS (in no particular order):

The kids in the street who always yell "goodbye" in English to us as we pass by
My Red dog, who greeted me every morning
Yuca Chile y Limon Chips
Baleadas every morning
Never having to tell a taxi driver where I live because, "we're the gringo house" Duh
Catan- a-thons, and just generally having people around who are always up to play
Living in what we like to call ,THE COMPOUND
Morgan's bar and all the memories made there, if only I could remember them
Upstairs from Morgan's bar
The plaza
Tamarindo anything
Hammocks
Granitas
The rain
$5 rum, really good rum (I'm talking bottles)
Church at the pool


THINGS I AM NOT GOING TO MISS (in no particular order):

Being yelled at, hissed at, kissed at
CarpetsCarpetsCarpets

This was my favorite because it was so bright and colorful
and generally hearing other things I never want to hear ever again by the various men in this country
The hot hot heat
The school and everything it is lacking
The need for a 24 hour guard
The fear of walking home at nite
Going to a resturant and having the only thing I can eat be french fries, and even those weren't that great
The general lack of respect for women


Huh, and I actually thought the list of things I am not going to miss would be longer... go figure. So, so long folks... I will blog at you from Nicaragua, from somewhere next to a lake or a beach or some other very large body of cool water. Till then...






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Next to the churchNext to the church
Next to the church

On the plaza, this was the longest one by far, it was about a block long.
Central AmericaCentral America
Central America

This was supposed to be Central America but it is hard to tell


20th April 2007

Wow, I never imagined the sawdust carpets you spoke of to be this elaborate! Awesome! Be safe with your travels! See you soon... :) Banana

Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb