wondering how i have better cell reception in nicaragua than in my hometown


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

okay, i have no real energy to write today. i´ve just been answering emails... and i´m going to copy and paste parts of a few of those here...

..........................

to my boss:

Thank you for P´s mini Spa and the positive reinforcement.

It feels like I have to keep reminding everyone in my community that I´ve only been here for 2 months. I mean, I´m still working on the español and getting people´s names straight but they´re ready for me to get up and GO and I´´m like, whoa, chill out. I started English classes like 3 weeks after arriving and go to every reunion they tell me about and visit INTA and UNAG in Somoto and go hang out with the volunteer mothers during PAININ and have to KEEP TELLING THEM that I am staying here until Nov 2010, no, I´m not leaving like S did (did you know she came and visited me here before she left?), yes, I LIKE Moropoto, no, Peace Corps will not send me to another community, argh!

Okay, that´s my rant.

So. Yes, I have plenty to work on. Correction - my community and I have plenty to work on.

...........................

to my british friend whom i met in beijing last summer and who is taking a round-the-world-trek and has just moved on from australia to south america and is having a hard time adjusting...

Yes, I can imagine that South America is a bit of a shock to the system at this point in your travels, but I have no doubt that you´ll soon be shouting at the SOCCER games in Spanish and Portuguese with the best of them 😉

I am finally starting to get somewhere in my community. The majority of the people are very indigenous looking and have strange names. So between learning Spanish, trying to figure out who is who and what their names are (xochilth, erling, adderly, maria luisa, maria josefina, maria dinorah, maria luisa again, mayra, mayra, maria maria maria, chema, chepe, chila, chupe, leonza, leonsia, leo!) and trying to get my community to decide on projects that they want and teaching the kiddies inglés.... I´ve got my work cut out for me, that´s for sure.

.................................

and last, but certainly not least, an email to my titan and my wifeth regarding titan´s upcoming ACL surgery later today.....

holy dios GOOD LUCK and i wish we were there!

um, so i just had the urge to go toward my theater-geek side and tell you to break a leg.... and i chuckled to myself but realized that would be an asshole thing to say. but there it is.

i am having a melancholy day down here. for the first time in the 5 months since i arrived, i listened to my country music on my ipod. i took my sweet ass time sauntering down my mountain and had a good hour to feel sorry for myself and miss home. i haven´t listened to country music becasue it makes me too homesick for missourah. for our country roads. for the radio in my bathroom set on 107.9 THE COYOTE and country music blaring in the morning while i take a hot shower... with running water.. and big fluffy towels that smell like laundry detergent and dryer sheets. and, oh, to be able to drive!

okay, you two, i hope you both know that all of my friends and family here know who both of you are.... since all of my photos in my room revolve around the two of you and my brother.

love to your mothers,
-molly






Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb