go steelers! ...cont´d


Advertisement
Nicaragua's flag
Central America Caribbean » Nicaragua
February 1st 2009
Published: February 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am in the department of Nuevo Segovia in the city of Ocotal for Super Bolo Sunday.

No, that´s not a typo. A bolo is a drunk person. Or you can be borracho(a).

I am the only representative of Ag 48 up here. Am here with my sitemates, my two Health Volunteers in the towns on either side of me. I´m super sad because their service is up in March and neither of them are being replaced. Thus, I will be a lot more alone in a few months.

So.... Ocotal seems... nice. Drove through on our way to the Aunt´s near Jalapa on Christmas day. But didn´t stop. I ammmm excited that there´s a bank here and that I FINALLY got my pin number and get to use the ATM!

I´m just blabbering now. I´m really hungry. Bank, and then food methinks.

More lueeeego.

Also, sometimes, like right now, when I´m sitting in a nice internet cafe, getting ready to go watch the Super Bowl with a bunch of other Americans... it´s hard to remember that I´m in the 2nd poorest country in the western hemisphere. And it´s times like these that I´m like, THIS is what PC service is?!

But then there are the other days when it is very clear where I am and why the PC is here.

But not today!

........................

2 Feb 2009
Monday
back in Somoto

So yay the Steelers won! It was a great game and I actually really enjoyed watching some good old American football, drinking beer, and yelling at the big screen TV with a bunch of other Americans. The issue, though, with ESPN VIVO is that we didn´t get to see any of the American commercials. booo!

It was also cool to meet so many new volunteers. Okay, actually they´re old volunteers, most of whom are in their last 2 months of service BUT they´re new to me. Lot´s of Health and Small Business.

So all in all, it´s been a sucessful 24 hours. Now I´m back in my city and have a good amount of time to run errands before my bus. And go places like the post office...

...Where I received a POSTCARD from sfriday of New Zealand and A PACKAGE, long awaited and sent 15 december, from creiter & clandrus! I am sooo looking forward to going home and opening it!

Since I feel the need to evaluate, here is a list of things that I want to do...

- make a list of all the books I´ve read during my PCV service. I know I´m up to at least 20...
- buy a new mirror
- experiment with my broken mirror and making a cool candle holder with broken mirror pieces
- bake cookies and/or a cake with my family during the month of february
- write articles about my time here, and not just blogs
- visit more houses
- start a community bank by march

I think that´s sufficient. And will take plenty of time. And on that note, time to go see about buying a new mirror...







Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb