La Ceiba


Advertisement
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

July 22 - I woke up today a bit later, around 7:30. Unfortunately, I had another bad belly this morning. Not great. But I had a nice skype call with Jeroen for two hours, got to see my cats, did some planning for the trip, and washed a couple things. It was nice to have a day to do nothing, especially after my hassles yesterday and being on the road for 11 hours in a boat, 6 buses and a taxi. I decided to go out a little before noon and look for something to eat for a change. I ended up going up to the roof area to have a look at the weather, which was the first blue skies I had seen in days. While up there I ran into the owner and he told me breakfast was included, so I had some pancakes. Good start. Then I went for a walk to the beach, and looked at the old dock. People were on it towards the end in the water, but the part near the shore was completely falling apart and scary. No way was I going out there. Then I headed out towards the mall, the only thing that seemed to be open, if I could get there. I also stopped at a pharmacy that was open and bought some antibiotics for my stomach, in case it was still bad later. And I did get to the mall. It was fun to walk around and look. And it was air conditioned, very nice after my long sweaty walk. I even got some Honduran food and a frosty from Wendy's for lunch. Yum, I forgot how good frosty's were. I bought a hair clip that should help with my gross big humid hair and another hair thing to help as well. Should be good on boats and at the beach tomorrow. I remembered reading in my guide that there were two movie theaters at the mall and that movies started at 3pm. I checked and decided to see Dark Shadows, but it was in the other theater across the street. I got directions and ran over and made it in time. I saw a preview for Hotel Transylvania and can't wait to see it. Dark Shadows was pretty good as well. I almost forgot where I was, until the power cut off and we were sitting in a pitch black theater for a few minutes before they got the problem fixed. After the movie, I came out and it had just rained. Which meant it would rain again. I went to the grocery store and picked up a few things, and was about to walk back, when it started raining hard. (By the way, they love soda so much here that they have 3 liter bottles of the stuff.) I needed to eat some dinner – so far stomach was ok – but the only thing around was fast food. So I went into Wendy's and got a taco salad. From there I got a cab back to the hotel. The streets were flooded. It must really have rained while I was in the movies. When I got in, I saw that my Do Not Disturb sign has been ignored once I had left. I don't usually like when people come into my room, especially when there is no need. So at first I was a little annoyed. Then I realized it was great. Someone had put all of my things away, folded my clothes and made really good use of the space, not that it was a small room. I quite liked it in the end. I spent a relaxing evening in my relaxing room and I am pleased with this day. Tomorrow I am going to Roatan, an island off the coast and the reason I came to Honduras on this trip. My family will be there on Wednesday, and it will be nice to see 22 people I know for a day. The next two days will just be spent relaxing. If I can manage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 28; qc: 136; dbt: 0.199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb