Ahhh... 5 am


Advertisement
Published: September 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

And so it is that school has started and I wake before the roosters have a chance to stir me from my slummer and before the sun has peaked its hot, hot head. School begins at 7 and we are to be there at least 10 minutes early. I would have no problem with this except for the fact that I have a particularly awesome schedule. The reasons of which I am not happy about but having as many free periods as I do can only be good. It seems the arts here are not nearly as valued as the sciences. As I was doing my planning I kept planning for a five day week as I am used to. Not so here, English classes are only taken four times a week while science and math classes are five days a week. Quite sad really but it does allow for a great schedule. Not that having a great schedule is all that great when we have a new director who is trying to prove himself by setting and keeping rules which were not in effect last year, the most important being, "we have to be here for our professional eight hours," so even if I am sitting reading my book all day in the teachers room, I am serving my professional time. Anyhoo, enough bitching huh? What about the first days of classes!!??
As I planned I was careful to consider the fact that these are second language learners, I allowed for extra time for everything. I found out on the first day that this was far from necessary, if anything I would need to include MORE in each lesson. These kids amaze me. 7th grade is the youngest I have and they are all fluent and confident! I have a girl in 8th grade, Nency who has shown me several poems, all of which were written by her in English! It amazed and shocked me to learn that these kids WANTED to speak and write in English. Perhaps I had been comparing them too much to my students last year at the alternative high school, but I was once again shocked to hear,after giving homework, one student say "yes" as though relieved to once again have homework!! WHAT?? I am even more excited about the school year ahead, these kids are workers, they are enthusiastic and ready!! I cannot wait
EveryoneEveryoneEveryone

What people do at parties, dance!
to see what they can do.
The week went on like this. To bed every nite around 9 in order to wake up at 5. I started taking showers at nite and worrying less about being there on time since I often did not teach until 3-4 hours later and am now waking at 6, it feels good. We teachers might play a game of Catan or cards before falling asleep. It is no longer play time, we are professionals now and so is the atmosphere in the houses. The weekends are well needed!
A big, big thank you to Sarita, Brian and Lys who have brightened my days with letters, cards and pictures, much needed when so far away. I am the first and only so far to receive any mail.
I have included some pictures, some of the electric shower I spoke of in a previous blog, the request of Toddy the plumber, wrap your mind around this...
Also some pics of the teachers party of which I hope we will be having plenty more


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Maribel and KariMaribel and Kari
Maribel and Kari

I'm learning the merengue


6th September 2006

I Miss You!!
Looks like your having a good time. Love the travelblogs. Miss you too much right now.

Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0754s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb