Day 22 Christmas Day on Roatan Island


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
December 25th 2008
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I awoke about 8am & I went with Brad down to the beach for breakfast. We met other members of the group there. I decided to take a stroll to the West Beach 4km away. I followed the coast as far as possible then took a detour through a very fancy hotel onto West beach. There were thousands of people there & I decided to head back, I ended up sharing a water taxi with some of the girls from my group back to our cove. We had lunch at a leisurely pace & hung out on the beach. I tried to phone home but my sister dropped the phone or something & when I returned later to try again the call shop had a power cut.

I went back to the hotel & retrieved the beers from the fridge & headed straight for the swimming pool. There was a power cut at the hotel but they had a back up generator so we had everything except web access . I stayed there for about 3 hours, swiming, sunbathing, talking with everybody, it's a hard life, but somebody has got to do it!!

I drank most & gave away some my beers, then I had a shower & changed clothes. I opened my bottle of red wine & headed back down to the swimming pool. Everybody was there & we had a good time until Uffe made a faux pas by telling Brenda "You are nothing" very loudly. This kind of killed the party a little, so I raced back to my room & retreived the 18 tube firework launcher that I had bought in Chichistantenago, I was keeping them for New Years Eve. There was a bridge over the pool & I put the launcher there so that it would ignite above head height ( I remembered the rocket that went stray which I set off in San Christobal ) to be safe & I lit the fuse. They were pretty good if I do say so my self. About 10 minutes later we headed to one of the few places that were open on Xmas. I finished my bottle & I was kind of pissed at this stage.

Earlier we all picked a name out of a hat & we had to buy that person a present for Christmas I picked Pips name & I bought her a teddy bear. I got a toy car & a bar of chocolate from my Secret Santa. The meal was very good I had rare steak & more red wine. It lasted about 2.5 hours. The waitress kind of threw a fit we were leaving & she saw all the bottles we had brought to the place & drank. There was no Christmas Shag, but that's the way it goes. It was a good night either way.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb