Day 21 Christams Eve Roatan island.


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Bay Islands » Roatán
December 24th 2008
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I slept until 9.30am when I went with Brad (my roomate) for breaki, he paid $5 for a bowl of cornflakes. I had planned an action packed day but I decided for an easy day snorkelling with Brad & Paul. We rented snorkels $6 for 24hrs from the hotel diveshop & walked to the pier to get a water taxi to the larger West Beach further along the coast.

This place was a full blown resort with luxury hotels spilling onto the beaches. But it had good snorkelling down the far end near the rocks. It was a perfect carribean day with sunshine & clear blue skies, the water was very refreshing. Near the shore it was very shallow with coral only 3 ft below the surface, but there where long gaps in the coral that took you past the reef (which stretches as far as Belize & is the second largest in the world) out to the deep water which has a lot more fish & coral.


We snorkelled stayed there until late afternoon I thought it was one of my best Christmas Eves. I am Irish & not used to tropical island beaches & palm trees at Christmas time. A couple of the Austrailians in the group were a little bored because they had seen it all before, but I loved it. Brad & me took a water taxi back to West End's cove. Paul stayed on the beach to work on his tan with some of the rest of the group who were nearby. We went to the sundowners on the beach front for a late lunch. It took a while for the burgers we ordered to arrive, but they were worth the wait. Sipping cold beer on a beach under a palm tree is not a bad way to round off a day!

Afterwards we all went for a seafood dinner, I ate the seafood selection, which was one of the best meals I had so far. We went to a couple of places afterwards, one had a live band but I thought we all had a better time earlier while talking drinking & eating dinner, so, I walked further up the beach where there was a Fish & Chip van that had a huge projector showing a Queen concert & I sat on the beach & I watched this for an hour or so before going back to the hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb