Day 23


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
December 26th 2008
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We got up 4.30am so we have enough time to drive back to the ferry terminal & buy our tickets for the 7am ferry back to the mainland. We were a little groggy after last night but everybody made it. It was going to be a long travel day. We took 2 taxis to the Hedman Alas Bus Station, so we could buy our tickets to Tegucigalpa.

I could not believe the security measures this company used. Firstly they had armed guards in the station, secondly they had airport metal detectors everybody had to pass through, thirdly every passenger was photographed & fourthly they open & searched all hand luggage just before we board the bus. The security was tighter than most airports I have passed through. The reason for all these precautions was the frequency of hijacks on the road to Tegucigalpa I found out.
Before I came to Central America I read a lot of blogs & I thought it was Guatemala that was the most dangerous place. But now I realise Honduras can be just as dangerous.


We arrived late in Tegus & we all went to a chinese restuarant, the food was great but as I was coming back from the toilet I saw a huge rat scurrying on top of the cooker in the kitchen. I said nothing to the guys because we were all tired after a long travel day, a couple of them took uneaten rice to eat tomorrow,nobody got sick either way. We all went back to the hotel after this.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Siver HillSiver Hill
Siver Hill

The silver in this hill was the reason Tegus was built


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb