Guatemala - Mystical Tikal


Advertisement
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Guatemala wasnt in my original travel plans. It was also the first time I travelled without a lonely planet guidebook to provide me with information of the destination. It made it all the more interesting as I was really throwing caution to the wind and opening myself to suprises along the way.

From Belize City, we (Eline, Jack, Fiona, Kenny and I) took a bus to San Ignacio and spent the night in this little town which was the last stop before crossing the border into Guatemala.

We crossed the border the next morning and managed to get a cab which was cheap to take us to Flores. We found out why later. It had a radiator which sounded like it was about to fall out anytime! We had to make so many stops along the way and it took a couple of hours for us to reach Flores which was by the lake.

Checked into the hostel los amigos and bumped into loads of people I had met before in Mexico. Was glad to see Sam there as well.

There was nothing much to see in Flores but it was a stop to make in order to see the mayan ruins in Tikal.

On the 2nd day, Jack, Eline and I took a bus at 5am and headed to Tikal for the day.

Tikal turned out to be my favourite mayan ruin.
It was nestled in the forest and much of it was left untouched. Climbing up almost eleven pyramids was quite an exercise as well as it was extremely steep. One wrong move and it would be a long and lethal fall.
It was good to go early as we had the place mostly to ourselves and did not have too many tourist around until much later in the morning.

Tikal was an extremely mystical place for me and I couldn't imagine if I had decided not to visit Guatemala, what I would have missed...

From the mystical ruins of Tikal, we left Flores and headed to Lanquin,Semuc Champey the next day along with Eline from Holland and Sarah, Liz and Angela all from Australia.

Without my digital camera, i had to rely on a disposable camera again and most of the pictures in this entry was taken with Elina's camera.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Tikal Tikal
Tikal

Me and Tikal
TikalTikal
Tikal

..some wildlife
TikalTikal
Tikal

with Jack from US and Elina from Holland
TikalTikal
Tikal

At the top of the highest ruin.
TikalTikal
Tikal

Mystery and Mystique


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb