Belize, Caye Caulker...Un-belizeable


Advertisement
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker

A little carribean town where life is on slow-mo
The road to Belize was an an eventful one.
I left Isla Mujeres with Marito and stayed a night in Playa Del Carmen and basically partied till 6am in Playa Del Carmen with Marito. Barely an hour later I took the 7am bus to Chetumal where I had to take another connecting bus across the border to Belize city.
In short I arrived in Belize City at 6.45pm missing the last boat that I needed to reach Caye Caulker. Belize City was not a really safe looking town and I was really not interested in staying there for a night.

As luck would have it, I managed to get a private boat that happened to leave at 7pm and
arrived unscathed in Caye Caulker at 8.30pm.

Checked into a small hotel for a night and the next day hooked up with Doug from Germany whom I met in Tulum. We both shared a room in another hotel for the next 3 days.

Caye Caulker is a sleepy carribean village. Life is slow-mo. Belizians are friendly, unperturbed and in their own little world. Most of everyone walk around barefooted and time for them stood still...
It was strange for
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker

At the Jetty when you arrive at Caye Caulker
me to hear and speak in English again after being in Mexico for two months. I can't believe I actually miss hearing and speaking in Spanish...

Just like Isla Mujeres, it doesnt take much time to explore the entire caye or island I would call it. It was nice and sunny with strong winds blowing in the evenings.

Not a cheap place to visit I must say. US$1 is = Belizian $2
Everything was expensive.

Took a boat out with some hostel mates for some snorkelling.
It was amazing as we got to swim with the stingrays and sharks and see colourful live corals and fishes. The stingrays felt like rubber and we got to touch and play with them being mindful of what happened to the crocodile hunter.....hmm...
The sail boat took its lesiurely time and slowly sailed around Caye Caulker giving us an intimate moment with nature at its best.
We ate conch ceviche and drank orange laced rum and reach the jetty all feeling elated and half drunk from the potent cocktail. What a way to spend the day....

Got a chance to eat fresh lobster tails, drank loads of beer and simply
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker

..our little boat waiting to take us to sea..
behaved like a belizian..

There are no real beaches here. The only place you could swim is at the "split" where the last hurricane split this place into two.

Spent a very fun and drunken evening at the Lizard Bar.
Everyone I was with had fun immitating and speaking in carribean slang...
Pick up lines you would hear.... "kome and sweem with me ann I wheel show ya a big black anaconda" or " ya make me fleep man" ...hilarous...

Unfortunately in my drunken stupor, I fell into the water and my new digital camera also took a swim as well and is now in camera heaven. So over the next few journals later you will see pictures taken from my disposal camera...sigh

Sunsets at Caye Caulker was beautiful. It was just like being in a movie where people run away from the rest of the world to be alone.....

All I can say was that it was an Unbelizeable experience in Caye Caulker....

After three days of standing still in time, I decided it was enough for me and it was time for me to move on and so I took the next
Sailing away Sailing away Sailing away

Sailing to the coral reef to swim among the stingrays and sharks...
boat out and headed towards Guatemala....









Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Swimming with the string raysSwimming with the string rays
Swimming with the string rays

It was amazing watching and swimming with the stingrays....
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

..this guy entertained us the whole trip with his stories..."ambush man" the word Belizians use to greet each other...
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

with Marianne from Canada on the boat after snorkelling...
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

...having fun after snorkelling..
Kids at Caye CaulkerKids at Caye Caulker
Kids at Caye Caulker

..cute kids playing...reminds me so much of my little Chloe and Claire..missing them loads..
At the Lizard BarAt the Lizard Bar
At the Lizard Bar

Dan from UK, Eleina from Holland and Fiona from Devon UK...before getting wasted....
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

Sunset at "split" where the caye was split into two by the last hurricane
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

Sunset at the Lizard bar at the split..
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

with Doug and Lena from Germany..
Belize - Caye CaulkerBelize - Caye Caulker
Belize - Caye Caulker

with team Germany..Lena, Lina and Doug..almost wasted but very unbelizeably happy...
At the Lizard BarAt the Lizard Bar
At the Lizard Bar

This beautiful sunset picture was taken with Eleina's camera...
At the Lizard BarAt the Lizard Bar
At the Lizard Bar

a Belizian trying his pick up line with Fiona...."you don nid noe feesh to kattch me man".....and theres's more where it came from ....
At the Lizard BarAt the Lizard Bar
At the Lizard Bar

the drunk english man....the green lizard drink was what I convinced everyone to drink and that got us totally wasted.....
At the Lizard BarAt the Lizard Bar
At the Lizard Bar

..German technology....this German girl carrying me on her back after way too many green lizard drinks....


18th January 2007

Brown man!
Wow.. you are sooo tan! are you sure you are chinese?
18th January 2007

Kool, marn!
Nice pix (as usual) and i am especially tickled by the Rasta Pasta one.
23rd April 2007

pictures
Your pictures are beautiful. I went to Caye Cauker a couple months ago. It was fun. Thanks for the beautiful pictures.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb