The Island


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
February 16th 2011
Published: March 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, we just arrived in Krabi after 4 nights in PhiPhi (P.P) Island; I thought we’d be back into civilization but Krabi is actually a rainforest/rural area, (almost like Cairns). I was expecting something more like Phuket, but I actually now remember when I booked this vacation we wanted something along these lines, whoops.

PhiPhi was lovely, which is more than what I can say for our ‘luxury’ accommodation; there was sand EVERYWHERE in the hotel, so much bloody sand! I can barely tolerate sand when I am at the beach, let alone have it follow me to my bed! Besides this minor hiccup, the actual Island itself was paradise. You could walk around the islands and markets within 45 minutes and be back to where you started. The water literally sparkles and the green mountains are an amazing backdrop; however I feel 2 days would have sufficed here, my A.D.D went off on this Island.

Upon arrival our mate Danielle stalked the tour desk, and we decided to book one speed boating tour to see all the little beaches around the Island and snorkel. This was an amazing trip, we saw Maya Bay, Monkey Beach (the monkeys here are psychotic) and got to swim in a lagoon! It was Danielle’s birthday so we sung her Happy Birthday here . On a side note, whilst we were snorkeling Billie saw a sea snake and the girls (+ Samuel) screamed epically loud I feel my ear drums are still on a long process of recovering!

Because the Island was so small, silly little arguments did happen. My two favourites would be Ricky, Danielle and Kellett deserting Melissa in a boutique store on the Island and leaving her there to shop alone. The silly JOAN (aka Melissa) got LOST (HAHAHAHA!!!) and came back to the hotel a good hour later with smoke coming out of her ears and a red face. IF you saw the size of this Island you’d probably appreciate the joke a bit more! But it’s about ¼ the size of Miranda Fair (gosh I do miss Miranda!) The girl looks like she’d be raped and has had the most horrific ordeal of her life, I’m a little confused by this whole situation.
The second funny situation would have to be Melissa and Kellett taking Danielle out to lunch on her birthday and Kellett accusing his two friends of trying to rip him off when splitting the bill. They got into some argument over 40 baht which is less than 2 Australian Dollars, ah. Then I made some joke about it to him that night and got in trouble, whoops!

The last exciting thing about this Island was going to a moon party on the beach, they had fire shows, and light up jump ropes and they sold us 4 dollar buckets with 150mls of rum plus soda in it (mhmm), amazing stuff! We dance, and some dirty gippo stole my brand new 40dollar thongs with gold on them, I was very emotional about this. But other than that the whole atmosphere was amazing, we danced in the sand bars, and two friends (who shall remain nameless) refused to pay 20cents to go pee in a public toilet; so instead they pissed in the bushes, and one, a female, pissed thru her jump suit in the ocean whilst squatting over a sand bank. Very Common!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb