SCUBA!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
June 15th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As usual I feel like in the few days that have passed since my last entry, so much has happened. Friday I spent in Siem Reap with Kia and Toke just relaxing, shopping and eating more amazing ice cream sundaes. Great day!
In the morning we left Siem Reap and flew to Kuala Lampur where I stayed for a short stop over on my way to Thailand again (finally). Kuala Lumpur is a very interesting city. On one hand it is so multicultural and all the cultureal and religious clothing you see in the street as well as regular western clothes and some very stylish people too give it an interesting flare (saris, burkas, full skirt and blouse with headscarfs, designer clothes, buddhist monks, etc). But the city feels alot more like a european city with an asian twist. We spent most of our time there at some of the many huge markets and just walkign around a lot (including me destroying my big toe in a painful and messy stubbing incident). I wasn't feeling well for the second day there so I didn't make it out of the hostel for very long at a time until i had to go to the airport to fly to Phuket where I spent one uneventful hot night before getting the boat to Ko Phi Phi.
I got to Phi Phi yesterday and have been having a blast already. I met two girls on the boat (Dutch and Australian) and we decided to share a room. They are a blast!! We hit up a few bars last night, watched the Denmark vs Holland soccer match, and spent hours dancing in the rain (dancefloor is outside plus it was pouring). Didn't mean to but we ended up staying up till 3am and Ann and I had a 8am dive this morning. We did two dives this morning and they were great. I saw half a shark (half hiding under a rock so it only half counts), and a TURTLE (I've never seen a turtle despite a dozen dives in Honduras) along with parrot fish, scorpionfish, lion fish, barracudas, and a baby sting ray!!! So great! I also got a chance to take some snorkeling pics with my camera that I'm pretty happy about. The sad this about the diving is that the most of the reefs we saw are dead or dying. They're either dead for some reason or they have become bleached which has been happening around th eworld. It was very sad to see this first hand and it definitely makes me want to do more for the environment and CO2 emissions (even though I know that flying is one of the worst things I can do). I'm going to look into offsetting my CO2 emissions from flying so that I can try to balance out my contribution. It was really sad.
Alothough the diving here was great it was quite pricey so I think I'm only gonna do those two dives here since I still have to do some in Ko Tao and the live aboard trip in Ranong. Can't wait to do more though!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb