Bungalow By Night...............


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
February 24th 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Gosh up early again today!!!- can't wait for a lie in!!!! But will be a couple of days yet as we have to travel through the night tomorrow......................................................

Went for breakfast with Louisa as both her and Timmy were leaving today to get to Singapore via Malyasia......................... Felt quite sad that we might not see her again on this trip- they are off to Oz the same day as us but starting from the North. It didn't quite sink in there and then as I was off for another couple of dives and always get slightly nervous beforehand- even though i'm better than I used to be!!!!

Today I could choose which dives I wanted to do which I was really looking forward to! I chose "learning bout different types of aquatic life" and "underwater Photography" which I was very excited about!

The first dive went ok although my mask was soooo fogged up and I was too scarred to clear it the whole dive!!!!! Bit silly really as we saw a Lephard Shark!!! Whow- those things are amazing! It was just chillin on the bottom then moved off so gracefully! The second one we saw was actually heading straight for me!!!!! Was quite scarred but then it took a detour................................ and bit my insructors leg off!!!!!!!!! Na only kidding!!

The second dive was wicked with the camera although there were a lot of blurred images at the end, managed to get a few nice ones!!!! Was hoping to see turtles on this dive as they are said to hang out in this area a bit but no such luck this time- did see the Lephard Shark again though which was cool and my insructor got some wicked photos of it swimming very close to the surface! I'm sure you'll agree x

Doind a night dive tonight with Vix to complete my Advanced Diving!!!!! Quite nervous but looking forward to it at the same time!

We got on the boat around 6ish pm when the sun was setting.................. when we got into the water it was sooooooo dark and sooooo choppy I was very scarred as the waves were just huge!!!!! We followed a rope for our descent as a reference, literally all you could see was half a metre if that in front of you. Vix struggled coming down so I waited at the bottom patiently and s**ting it with a guy that was also doing it!.................................. and there it was at the bottom- the Tsunami Bungalow!!!!!!! Gosh I thought it was an iron bed!!! All the wooden walls had gone and literally the frame was left and the steps leading into it!!!!

Vix made it down fine. So glad we did it there so we could experience that.......... We also saw a huge Hermit Crab which was my favourite and a huge Barracuda hunting!!!! Unknown to my until we surfaced, Pontus, our insructor, torch had run out of battery!!!!! But being the amazing diver he is- and not half good looking either- knew the way!!!!! Glad I didn't know this til we surfaced!!!!

We all sat on the bottom for a while and switched off our torches- pitch black!!!! But all of a sudden the micro organisma in the water started to glow which looked like teany tiny fairy lights! Very pretty!

The ascent was wierd as the only way I knew I was coming to the surface was because my ears were popping loads as the sky was a black as the sea! I signaled for the boat to pick us up (moving the torch in a circular shape above your head), whilst we waited we lay back and watched the stars!!!! Beautiful! One of my favourite things i've seen.................... a perfect way to finish my Advanced!

So celebrating that and for our last night on Phi Phi (weep weep!) we went out and got hammered!!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



1st March 2006

brave girl you!
hi bubba how brave are u i need a poo!!!!! just looking at what you have done you look as though your having an amazing time miss you loads,xxxxxxxxxxpaula

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb