Hot Hot Hot in Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
October 10th 2009
Published: October 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A Very Typical dirnking spotA Very Typical dirnking spotA Very Typical dirnking spot

This is the place for dinking Insect infused Whiskey. 10 baht (.33)
Here I am back in hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai, quite a difference after the quiet pace of Pai. However I am getting ahead of myself. I finished up in Pai with a night out with a few women I had met in Pai. It started out with dinner when one of the women an Italian women named Steph suggested a small drinking place for a cocktail, little did I know at first what kind of cocktail. When we cruised our bikes up to the place I was a bit reluctant to want to go in as it looked very simple and for the locals. She ordered us a round of some type of local drink (scary in itself) at first she mentions it is a type of herbal drink so wanting to try most anything once I accepted the shot, it was not bad but very strong. Well as it turns out it was a insect herb drink. Apparently the soaked the insects for long time with herbs, It really sounds gross but it wasn't so bad it had a slight bitter taste but overall drinkable if you didn't know it was insects soacked in probably what is probably
YazmenYazmenYazmen

One of the women I met from England out on town
a rice whiskey. Well I had two and that was enough for me. The next morning I was heading back to Chiang Mai so I made an early night and left the girls to dance the night away. Am I getting old and responsible or what!
The ride back to Chiang Mai takes about 3 hours and the road itself is nothing but curves 762 in fact, not a good road if prone to road sickness. I am not so I just enjoyed the lush countryside. I checked myself into my hotel and opted for a fan room A big mistake it is so hot here and muggy you just can't believe it. Still I am too cheap for air con but they did have a pool. The streets here are teaming with cars, tuk tuks ( a small three wheeled cab) songtauws ( small covered pick ups with seats in the back) and a million people. The noise is constant and crossing a street is a dangerous thing. However there is something very invigorating to be in the middle of all this humanity with all its food smells, street noises, and people that really lets you know your in
same clubsame clubsame club

Another fun wait staff at club
a place that is nothing like the quietness of Vancouver/Portland. So I have spent the last week visiting friends, shopping and getting massages. Last night I and spent the evening with my friends Tom, Nok and there little girl Becky. It was Beckys 6th birthday so much activity. I was at the hostpital when Becky was born so she has a special spot in my heart I was happy to be able to be with her on her sixth birthday. We spent the afternoon at the local pool and then onto the party. We made lots of food, Thai and Western (of course the Thais wouldn't eat the western) We drank lots of wine and beer and watched the kids get wound up on birthday cake and soda, a good time had by all. Mostly all conversation was in Thai but it is amazing how much Thai I can understand with each glass of wine LOL. Anyway here I am hanging out at their house listening to cartoons in Thai and already sweating my ass off at 8 AM. Today I am meeting up with a friend and having dinner at another Thai friends house so not sure what will
Crazy Night for Hotel KeepersCrazy Night for Hotel KeepersCrazy Night for Hotel Keepers

These people ran the bungalow place in Pai happen to run across them in town ripping it up. Funny because at hotel they seemed so reserved but out Wow
be on the menu but hoping nothing to wierd as she is from an area in Eastern Thailand that is really know for eating very strange things and very spicy. The other day she gave me a small plate of food which was almost too spicy for me to eat as it turns out after asking many times what it was it was frog. Not a big fan too many bones for my taste. However I try to eat what someone makes for me so I will keep fingers crossed it is chicken or pork. I will post pictures in next bog. Heading for Bali in 2 days time and must say very excited and nervous with all this earthquake business. But really looking forward to seeing someplace different. As exotic as Thailand is after this many times it almost seems like home away from home. Well enough of my ramblings I hope that my next entry is more interesting and posted with cool photos. Cheers


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Interesting Spirit houseInteresting Spirit house
Interesting Spirit house

A shrine to Ganesh I found out in the rice paddies of Pai
Old abandoned Spirit houseOld abandoned Spirit house
Old abandoned Spirit house

When they get old or move they take themm to what I call spirit house graveyards. They have a funny superstion when they drive by one they always honk their horn possibly to scare them away? LOL
Fancy one Spirit house Fancy one Spirit house
Fancy one Spirit house

These are really large ones that they make offerings to if thet have a shop in local market
Chinese Style ShrineChinese Style Shrine
Chinese Style Shrine

This is a shop selling a Chinese style Buddhist shrine.
Various Items for shrinesVarious Items for shrines
Various Items for shrines

A Market shot of items sold for worship and shrines
Flower MarketFlower Market
Flower Market

This is a market filled with amazing flowers and flower arrangements. This shot is of shrine flower offerings.
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

Not the best shot but gives you an idea of how they keep flowers fresh for sale
Gorgeous!Gorgeous!
Gorgeous!

Lotus buds
Party PhotosParty Photos
Party Photos

Becky and friends at Party. They had lots of fun!
Ahh Massage!Ahh Massage!
Ahh Massage!

This is an idea of what a simple massage place looks like. They can get really fancy but this place was nice and at 150 Baht ($5) I'll take it
Party PhotosParty Photos
Party Photos

Becky and friends at Party. They had lots of fun!
ShrineShrine
Shrine

Interesting spot in the middle of nowhere.
Veiw from Yazmens BalconyVeiw from Yazmens Balcony
Veiw from Yazmens Balcony

Just thought it was pretty


11th October 2009

I feel the heat
Thanks for the great photos. I think partying with a bunch of women is the best. Drinking is more fun because there isn't competition. Anyway, sounds like you had fun. Can't wait to read about Bali.
13th October 2009

shrines
I love your pictures of the spirit house/shrines. You will find many of these box, shrines in Bali too. It is so great that the Thais can find simplicity and peace even in the hot city. I feel a calmness come over me when I visit this site. What a great way to document your trip. Have fun.
15th October 2009

glad to hear from you!
Great photos! It was fun to see Nok and Becky. I am glad that you are having a great time. Frog!!! Bug drinks!! Oh my!!!

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0706s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb