Bali/ Legion and Ubud


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
October 17th 2009
Published: October 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First Indonesion Dinner $4.50First Indonesion Dinner $4.50First Indonesion Dinner $4.50

What a beautiful Plate. The restaurant was beautiful. Had dinner with a young Aussie couple Alisha and Tod
Well I have finally made it to Bali. So far haven done too much. (Sorry for typos but this comp sticks!!) The first few days I spent at the hotel in Legion which is outside of Kuta where all the Aussies hang out (Auzzies is how we are suppose to say it!) They are a fun bunch so had a lot of fun but never really saw much. However I am in Ubud now which is the art center of Bali/Indonesia. I was expecting a smaller town but with it being such a popular tourist destination it is a busy place. First let me say it is hot here!! Also the food is so cheap I mean a meal runs about 2 or 3 dollars. The people are really friendly and always smiling even if they don want to. Another thing is the buidings and temples, oh my everywjhere. They all seem to have private worship places that are amazing. They are constantly praying and burning incense. Every morning they walk around and bless everything it really is something to see. The first night here I spent in my room not feeling well but got a good nights rest ( I
Swimming pool with swimup bar!!Swimming pool with swimup bar!!Swimming pool with swimup bar!!

Thats Tod in front! They were a lot of fun
guess I was trying to keep up with the Aussies so maybe over indulged? LOL) I felt a lot better and back to normal today. This afternoon the maid who is a young man offered to ride me around on his motorbike (a tip of course I guess this is how they make extra cash) so I hope to get out of town for a few hours and see some countryside so really looking forward to that. After that I think I will go see a dance show this evening. There are places everywhere that have traditional dancing and puppet shows. Tomorrow off to see Wayans family which should be very interesting even if the language will be a problem but will manage. Stocked up on gifts in Thailand and will buy cookies and fruit as gifts to his family. Funny thing here all the oldest are named Wayan the second Mardi, third Yohman and fourth Ketut then it starts all over again so everyone is named that but some take nicknames I guess. Confusing huh, at least they have names and not just numbers like some in Laos. Next blog will have pictures so check back. Yesterday I went
Dinner first night BaliDinner first night BaliDinner first night Bali

Tod and Alisha at dinner
to the famous monkey forest and they were everywhere, the little varmits. One snuck up on me and scared the .... out of me so I gave a good laugh to the locals and tourist. They really are nasty things cleaning each others fur and butts. One was cleaning that area then decided to try a little hanky panky on her much to the delight of the camera toting tourist. Anyway I will write more when I have more to say so until next time. Cheers!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

AHHHH!AHHHH!
AHHHH!

Balinese massage girls near the pool about $6
Morning offering bowlsMorning offering bowls
Morning offering bowls

Every morning! Everywhere! Cats are well fed I am sure
Extra Offering placesExtra Offering places
Extra Offering places

These are besides the ones in houses but everywhere on the street in front of homes. They are Hindu but they also have lots of buddhas that get blessed. Maybe like the Thais covering all bases. They also put flowers on everything. Very pretty
Part of a Royal Family Temple sightPart of a Royal Family Temple sight
Part of a Royal Family Temple sight

The buildings are amazing and so ornate
For you Heather!!For you Heather!!
For you Heather!!

A small pond outside my door filled with Lotus
My new hotel room at Ubud TerracesMy new hotel room at Ubud Terraces
My new hotel room at Ubud Terraces

I moved from other place as it was a little far out of town for night walking. This one is right in the thick of things, Great pool as well $15 a night
New Hotel Pool New Hotel Pool
New Hotel Pool

New Pool, it is gonna be hard to get out of this pool. The place also serves breakfast of fruit, pancake and coffee


21st October 2009

so pretty!
Great photos! I wish I were there.... I'll bet everyone says that.

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb