On my own


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 16th 2012
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning we got up as early as we could manage and went down for the buffet breakfast. The restaurant had a fountain. The highlight, however, was that they had a Popcake, something that I must now possess. You press a button and in 20secs it makes fresh American pancakes, six in all. And it is amazing. Anyone who has lived with me will understand my appreciation for a kitchen aid gimmick especially one that results in such deliciousness. You could have any breakfast you wanted, made fresh in front of you. After, even when we checked out, we asked if we could spend the day at the pool. And they said yes as they just never say no to you and they were filming for a promo at the time. So basically, we spent the afternoon on deck chairs, swimming, reading and afterwards the poolside bathrooms were splendid.

Saying goodbye to Ben was awful. I know I can travel alone but it makes me so nervous. This will be such an amazing thing for me to conquer. We got separate taxis, arranged for us of course, will need to get used to doing things myself again. I headed to Kho San for some supper before my bus. I only had a few hours so I tucked myself away with some rice soup and my kindle. However, I had a full table within 20mins. It’s almost always Irish and German travellers. One guy was half of each. I spent a while convincing them it was 4pm as they had been drinking through the night and were convinced it was only just morning. But that was good fun and a reminded that you are never travelling alone. Passed some time and drunk people when you are sober is always funny.

Caught my bus which was late, this would be okay but as it was only me, I felt a bit tense until I was on and we got going. I met some cool guys on the bus, one who lives off property investment and just travels all year round, just comes home for Christmas. Irish, of course, same same but different. It has been amazing to meet people who have such different lifestyles and perspectives. Now I’ve been funnelled into Medical School, we all have the same sort of lifestyle. Sure, we are all still doing our own things but we have a major commitment in common and many of us can relate to each other’s background. This is doing me so much good, getting me out of my own head and opening my mind. Sure, I don’t think I’ll pack my life up and travel any time soon but I don’t want to just go through the motions at school and miss out on how much fun it is to be there now, no matter what happens in the future. Being present in everything you do is something that I hope I take home with me. Doing the journey down South again wasn’t as fun having already done it two weeks before but I met a couple who teach around the world, currently in Bangkok, and that was really interesting.



No sleep for me, enjoy your comfy beds, love Katie xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb