First day of the next five months


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, well, well. What a busy time I've had over the last few days! I'm currently writing this from my bed in my very own apartment!!! I found out on Thursday that my school is in Bangkok, about 20 minutes away from the city centre if people are to be believed. Haven't had a chance to explore yet, but will probably head there in the next few days just to find out how far it really is.

My school is a private Catholic school that has 1300 students in it ranging from kindergarten all the way up to 16 year olds. I know nothing yet about what age I'll be teaching, but think I start on Tuesday so will find out more then. It is in the same road as my apartment so I have a pretty sweet 10 minute walk to work in the mornings, could even come home for lunch if I needed to (probably more to shower than eat, it's sooooo hot!) My apartment is basically a room with a bed, desk and wardrobe in with a bathroom attached. It is air conditioned though and does have free wifi. I'll try and upload some photos soon to show just what luxury I'm living in. The walls are very white so I will have to put some pictures up or something soon.

Had a very lazy morning as, unfortunately, have already had a dose of the old Bangkok Belly - I imagine it's the same thing as Delhi Belly but, you know, from Bangkok!! Feeling much better now and keeping food down but I never need much of an excuse to be lazy.

Did go for a wander earlier, looked around my school and went to see what was around. Oh what things I saw: a man fishing in a river that definitely looked as if toilets were emptied into it; chicken legs bagged up and ready for sale (some sort of delicacy I believe...) and an executive spa for men - think we all know what that is really!

Still trying to work out just where I am, certainly in relation to all the friends I have made so far. Think there are a few people in and around Bangkok so they shouldn't be hard to catch up with and I have great excuses for travelling around the rest of Thailand to see those who are a bit further away!

I'm looking forward to starting teaching now though and getting into some sort of routine, feel as if I have been away a lifetime already and have hardly done anything!

Lots of love xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb