First Blog...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 19th 2011
Published: October 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello! So...my first Thai blog. Not really sure what to write except that I am here! It has been a mixed start to the trip. The social side of things is great, met some really lovely people and, as we're all in the same situation, we are all feeling the same and managing to support each other in our times of need - of which there have been a few!

The work side is still as unknown as it was before I got here. We won't find out where we are until Friday and, to be honest, not knowing anything about it is scaring the hell out of me. I know that it probably won't be as bad as it is being made out to be at that the company are only telling us worst case scenarios to prepare us and protect themselves but still, it's a big scary step thinking that on Friday I'm going to have to find my own apartment, furnish it and then start thinking about teaching, we could be as early as Tuesday!

We have had a few good nights out, not necessarily late and drunk ones, but we've found the shopping centres and some tasty food! Taxi journeys are interesting, you have to make sure they put the metre on or it will twice the price, but they don't really mind how many people travel in them. There are five of us that have stuck together and we squeezed in to one on our way to and from dinner - the car made a few creaks and groans going over bumps but we survived! Let's hope that's the story of the trip...as long as I come out alive I'm sure I'll be fine! Haha

Bangkok is obviously a different type of place to anywhere else we'll see, but it's fun and pretty in its own little way. Lots of bright lights and very busy whatever time you see to go out! Am trying to learn a little bit of Thai, but it's very very difficult, hopefully I'll pick up more along the way.

Anyway that's it for now, next time I manage to write I'll (hopefully) know where I'm going, be settled and perhaps even have started teaching!

Lots of love xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb