One night in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 7th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chris & I at LAXChris & I at LAXChris & I at LAX

Here is a picture of Chris & I at LAX on Thursday, January 5 (thanks to the Silvesters for dropping me off at the airport!)
After the second leg of my flight (this one was over 6 hours long), I arrived in Bangkok at 11:30 p.m. last night. Customs was a breeze. Once out of the airport, I grabbed a metered taxi (the unmetered taxis try to rip you off) to get me to Khao San Road and then wandered around until I found my hotel a little after 1:00 a.m.

The hotel has got some charm but it's definitely in the low budget category. I wanted to start out with humble beginnings. 😊 Shambara is the name of it. It's located in this little alley off Khao San Road (I've got to get a picture of this - it's classic). The hotel has 8 small rooms that share a bathroom at the end of the hall (with 2 showers & toilets). My room is about the size of a big closet. There's a bed and no other furniture to speak of - no room for it really. It's a good set-up though for meeting people, something that I've been able to do quite easily so far. I seem to be running into Canadians everywhere I go. I met two in the Narita airport (from
Shambara hotelShambara hotelShambara hotel

Picture of my room in Bangkok
Calgary area), and then another 3 today at the hotel (from Vancouver area). Most of the people I've met so far are doing the backpacking thing too (I'm not the only one!).

Wish I could say I got a good night of sleep last night but that wasn't exactly the case. I got 3-4 hours of sleep and then just decided to get up early and start my day. What have I done so far today? Well, I like to get my bearings initially and see what's around. So I've done a ton of walking.

For lunch I grabbed some great grub from a place called May Kaidee. It's a vegetarian restaurant that's got a lot of favorable reviews on the internet. I really don't know what I was doing at a vegetarian restaurant, but hey, it was good! I actually met the owner May (pronounced My) who was trying to convince me to take her cooking class. Sorry May, don't have time during this round in Bangkok since I leave soon for the island of Phuket (pronounced Poo Ket). She's a nice, friendly lady and younger than I thought she'd be considering the restaurant has been open
Lunch!Lunch!Lunch!

Masaman curry, spring rolls in peanut sauce, and a fruit shake at May Kaidee's (all for $3)
for almost 20 years.

I ended up talking with an American at the restaurant (from Northern California). She's also doing the backpacking thing but has already spent a lot of time in Thailand. She taught English last year in Surat Thani, Thailand so she picked up a lot of Thai along the way and helped me with my pronounciation of a few words (I'm going to need a lot of help in this department!).

As for the internet, there are internet cafe's everywhere. It's just a matter of finding the ones with good connection speeds. I'm currently at one with A/C and a great connection for only 50 cents per hour. Nice!

Ok, enough out of me for now...there goes Dave!

Advertisement



8th January 2006

Lunch
Hey Dave, Lunch looks good. Glad you made it safe and sound to your first destination. Sounds like you are off to a good start meeting friendly Canadians and cheap lunches. Loved your digs in Bankok. God speed. Jim and Barb

Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 86; dbt: 0.2156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb