4 movies, 2 meals, 1 snack & 11 hours later


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Narita
January 6th 2006
Published: January 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the first leg of my flight is over (about 11 hours) and now I'm sitting in the Narita airport (near Tokyo, Japan) waiting for my flight to Bangkok.

LAX was packed this morning. Tons of Texas Longhorn fans were heading back home after supporting their team at the Rose Bowl last night. I tried to congratulate every last one of them for beating USC. What a game. Vince Young of Texas was amazing. Being a UCLA fan, a loss by SC is always a good thing in my book.

With the crowds, I needed every bit of the 2 hours from drop off (thanks to the Silvesters for taking me to the airport) to get to the gate. I met a cool girl in the security check point line at LAX (and a long line it was!) who happened to be on my flight to Narita. So we were able to hang out quite a bit 'til we got to Narita. She's living near Tokyo teaching English.

The flight actually went by pretty quick. Lots of movies, meals, but no sleep. Hard to adjust though to leaving Thursday morning from Los Angeles, arriving in the afternoon in Japan (the following day, Friday), and then not arriving in Bangkok until 11:30 p.m. My internal clock is already wacked! It could also be interesting getting to my hotel. I don't speak Thai. My taxi driver won't speak English. No problem. 😊

I'm going to Khao San Road...all taxi drivers in Bangkok know where that is. I'll walk to my hotel once I get there.

No way to upload photos at this terminal so I'll save that for later (yes, I've already taken some pictures).

signing off...there goes Dave

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb