Wedding Plans


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Libernard Cafe in Chiang MaiLibernard Cafe in Chiang MaiLibernard Cafe in Chiang Mai

We went back again, and again, and again (that's 3 times during this trip). It's banana pancake and cafe latte heaven.
A couple of months have passed since my last blog. You'd think by now I'd have put together something covering my trip in May to Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai (northern Thailand). But, ahh, nope! I haven't done it.

The trip overall was good, but it didn't go as planned, or rather, things weren't planned well enough? What do I mean? Well, the original intent of the trip was to make a visa run across the Thai/Burmese border. However, that didn't happen. I never crossed the border.

Although there is more to this story, the bottom line is that a visa run wasn't necessary because I was able to get a new non-immigrant B visa (1 year) through my current employer, St. John's College, prior to the expiration of my old visa. I won't get into the details surrounding my new passport, the loss of my multiple-entry privileges, etc. I'm trying to keep it simple, but visa issues are rarely simple. Confused? Yeah, I was too. But just nod your head that's it's okay to move on, and I'll do just that...

So...where was I? Why don't I jump ahead to the present. It's almost August, and that
Engagement PhotoEngagement PhotoEngagement Photo

by Modern Studio (Low Res version)
means my wedding is quickly approaching. Yes, indeed! When am I getting married? October 11, 2008. Saai and I had contemplated postponing the wedding, but we're confident now that October is best. We've had our share of rough spots - yes, relationships do take a lot of work. Plus, let's face it, I'm high-maintenance. 😉 Who can put up with me? I mean, what I'm really trying to say is, ahhh, well, actually...what's there not to love??? Right Saai? 😊

Soooooo, the wedding is just a couple of months away. It'll be in Bangkok. Arrangements have been made at a Thai church for the ceremony (Silom - business area of Bangkok) and a nearby restaurant for the reception (I'm not sure I can pronounce the names of either place even though I've been to both multiple times - yes, my Thai language skills rock!). Although there are many details to sort through, a lot of work has already gone into this. God has blessed us with some great people to help with the planning. We've actually got 3 wedding planners. 1 or 2 weren't enough, so we're going with 3 (thanks Da, Aut, and Heather!). Others are certainly helping
Saai Saai Saai

@ Kwanjit Restaurant in June
too!

That's it for now. I know it's short, but at least there's a little wedding news to spread.











Advertisement



31st July 2008

thanks
for the update! We were just wondering about you last night. Enjoy the big day. :)
14th August 2008

Holy Cow
How sad I am that I won't be at your wedding!!! I was going to have mom and dad send me out there but we have a baby due at the end of Sept. Congrats to you and Saai and we'll hope to see you both soon. Blessings, R and A.
16th August 2008

Wedding and more
Had a great trip with your folks. Of course, you and Saai were much on our minds. Looking forward to a California celebration. Keep that in your plans. Congratulations to you both.

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb